Official New Hampshire website
NHSCA logo 50th anniversary tagline


 nh arts home
 program services
trans div
 arts & artists
   artist rosters
   poet laureate
   artist laureate
trans div
nh folklife
 news & calendar
 about us
 site map



Arts & Artists  

2017 Governor's Arts Awards GAA logo

On November 1, 2017, the Governor's Arts Awards recipients were recognized by Governor Chris Sununu during a ceremony and reception at the New Hampshire Institute of Art in Manchester, hosted by the New Hampshire State Council on the Arts.

Nominees include individual artists, arts organizations and communities who contribute to New Hampshire’s creative economy in exemplary ways. Each recpient recieved an award designed and created by Berlin sculptor Andre Belanger, which are based on the State House dome eagle – the first public art in the state.

The 2017 Governor’s Arts Awards recipients are:

armstrongArts Education
Award Recipient: Randy Armstrong, Barrington
dhArts in Health
Award Recipient:
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Creative Arts Program, Lebanon
nashuaCreative Communities
Award Recipient:
City of Nashua
stricklerDistinguished Arts Leadership
Award Recipient: Susan Strickler, Manchester
dolanFolk Heritage
Award Recipient:
Fred Dolan, Strafford
whitneyLotte Jacobi Living Treasure
Award Recipient: Richard Whitney, Stoddard
mcleodSpecial Council Award
In Memory of Commissioner Van McLeod

Photos by Abbigail Saffian.

Funds for the 2017 Governor's Arts Awards were generously donated by private contributors, including the following:

Presenting Sponsor:

Participating Sponsors:      
Joan and Howard Brodsky Roger Brooks Christine Dwyer  
Contributing Sponsors:      
Renee and Dan Plummer Chris and Tom Stevens    
Supporting Sponsors:      
Liz and Jeremy Hitchcock Mary McLaughlin Kathryn Muirhead  
Robert Oot and Carol Robey      
Council Friends:      

Arnie Arnesen
Adele Boufford Baker
Robert Begiebing
Carolyn Benthien
Kent Devereaux
Sara Germain
Judith Gibson and Patrick Duffy

Terry Heinzmann
Marilyn Hoffman
Jacqueline Kahle and Michael Dell’Orto
Elaine Krasker
Elizabeth Morgan
Toni Pappas
Barbara Pitsch
Timothy Sink
Bob Spiegelman and Truda Bloom
Sarah Stewart
Susan Strickler
Billie Tooley



Last updated: November 7, 2017

nh | privacy policy | accessibility policy