For Consumers For Producers For Companies Legal Information License Status


Insure U Logo

Property & Casualty
The procedures, checklists and FAQs provided under this section are for your guidance only; all insurers/filers have the responsibility to read and correctly apply the laws as they pertain to each filing submitted. If you have any questions pertaining to these filing guidelines, please e-mail the question to

Industry Filing Guidelines


Public Access

The New Hampshire Insurance Department is pleased to be able to provide you with two alternative methods for viewing Rate and Form Filings Electronically.

If you wish, you can review the filings by using the computer terminal for public access data on SERFF (System for Electronic Forms Filing) located in the lobby of the Insurance Department. Access to this terminal is on a first come first serve basis. For security reasons, should you need to copy files the Department has a supply of CDs available for $2.00 each. If using your own CD, it must be new and sealed in its original packaging. Paper copies are available at a cost of $0.25 each per page.

We are pleased to provide you another alternative method for viewing Rate and Form Filings electronically. You can click on the following link: to view these filings remotely, from your own home or office or anywhere you have access to a computer.

Need Help?

If you need assistance finding a Rate or Form Filing or if you have questions about what Filings are available to the public, please contact the Insurance Department directly at and we will provide you with the assistance you need. We are available Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm EST.

If you are experiencing technical difficulties with the SERFF system or problems accessing the SERFF alternative remote access website, please direct your questions to the SERFF Help Desk at 816-783-8990 or email The Insurance Department cannot help with computer systems issues or technical issues related to SERFF. The SERFF Help Desk is staffed Monday through Thursday from 8:00am to 8:00pm CST, and Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm CST. If a Customer Support Analyst is not available, please leave a message with the SERFF Help Desk. Your call or email will be returned the next business day by SERFF staff.

New Hampshire Premium Rate Comparisons

Motor Vehicle Total Loss


How does the insurance company determine the amount of my vehicle when it is totaled?

Insurers are obligated to pay the "Fair Market Value" as defined in Ins 1002:15. Insurers must use one of two methods for determining the fair market value. Generally speaking, the two methods are as follows:

Option One, Statistically Valid Methods: The average retail value derived from the application of a process or methodology that the department accepts as a statistically valid method of establishing fair market value in the local market area.

Accepted Loss Valuation Methods

Option Two, Documented Sales: Documented sales cost of no fewer than 2 motor vehicles of the same make, model, and year as the total loss motor vehicle that have occurred within the previous 90 days within the local market.

The full insurance rule should be consulted as it provides much more detail on exactly how the two methods operate. The rule is Ins. 1002.15 and is available at:




Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.


New Hampshire Insurance Department | 21 South Fruit Street, Suite 14 | Concord, NH 03301
Phone 603.271.2261 | Fax 603.271.1406 | Consumer Hotline 1.800.852.3416

Copyright © State of New Hampshire, 2007