Highway Safety Agency logo
Website Name - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size

About Us

RSA 238: - Provides that the Highway Safety Agency is "the agency responsible under the executive direction of the governor to develop and implement the state’s Highway Safety Program." RSA 238:6 further states that each state agency and each political subdivision (towns, village districts, school districts, cities and counties)" which implements highway safety programs approved by the Governor in accordance with Highway Safety Act is eligible for reimbursement of federal funds apportioned to this state for such programs."

Public Law 89–564 - requires each state to have a Highway Safety Program approved by the U.S. Secretary of Transportation.

238:10 Establishment. - There is hereby established a traffic safety commission consisting of 15 members appointed by the governor and council for a term of 5 years and until their successors are appointed and qualified. Initial appointments by the governor and council shall be as follows: 5 members for 3 years; 5 members for 4 years; 5 members for 5 years. Vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as the original appointment. The commission shall have a chairman who shall be designated by the governor from among its membership. The term of chairman shall be for one year. The commission shall meet not less frequently than quarterly and at such other times as it may be convened by the call of the chairman, and upon petition of 5 members, it shall be the duty of the chairman to convene the commission forthwith. Members of the commission shall receive no compensation but shall be entitled to expenses, including mileage, when in the performance of duties required hereunder.

Traffic Safety Commission members & termspdf file

Acrobat Reader Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.

Office of Highway Safety | Department of Safety
33 Hazen Drive, Room 109A | Concord, NH Concord NH 03305 | Telephone (603) 271-2131
Fax (603) 271-3790 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964