skip navigation Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
New Hampshire's Transparency Portal

Senate Bill 32 Reports

State of New Hampshire Financial Reports

Education Property Tax
RSA Chapter 76:3

Under Chapter 17, Laws of 1999, the Education Property Tax was established. The tax is assessed and collected by municipalities. The rate was originally $6.60 per thousand of equalized valuation. It appears on the same bill with the other property taxes administered at the local level. The effective date of this tax was April 1, 1999. Chapter 158, Laws of 2001 reduced the rate from $6.60 per $1,000 of value to $4.92 per $1,000 of value beginning with the April 1, 2003 tax year (school year 7/1/03-6/30/04). The sunset provision of the Education Property Tax was repealed, making the tax a permanent revenue source dedicated to funding education. As of April 1, 2005, the rate was $3.33 per $1,000. Beginning in July of 2005, and every fiscal year thereafter, the Commissioner is required to set the tax rate at a level sufficient to generate revenue of $363,000,000.


About This Site
Frequently Asked Questions
Glossary | Links | Contact Us


Where The Money Comes From

Where the Money Comes From
Unrestricted Revenue
Revenue Glossary
Funding Glossary


Where the Money Goes

State Expenditure Register
Monthly Expenditure Reports
NH Operating Budget
Employee Pay Search


How Government Finances Work

How Government Finances Work
State Budget Process
Budget Development Phases
Categories of Government