Getr the latest COVID-19 information
skip navigationOfficial State of NH Site
DOS Logo MVIB Banner

About Us

The Board was established by laws of 1996, Chapter 263, effective January 1, 1997 and is administratively attached to the Department of Safety pursuant to RSA 21-G:10. The Commissioner of Safety or his designee is the statutory chairperson of the board.

In addition to the statutory chairperson, the board consists of six members appointed by the Governor and Executive Council for a term of four years. Current members are: Board members.

The board generally meets on the third Thursday of each month on a quarterly basis at the Department of Safety, but meets at other times and locations as necessary. The Board’s address is 33 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03305. Notice announcing the subject of a Board meeting is posted at the State House and at the Department of Safety, 24 hours prior to the scheduled date, excluding Sundays and Holidays.

Basic Board Functions

The Board’s primary function is to conduct hearings and issue written decisions on complaints alleging a violation of RSA 357-C, but the board also issues declaratory rulings, requires the filing of new selling agreements or amendments and adopts rules Mvi 100-200.

Copies of the Board’s rules are available upon request to the Board’s office at a cost of $5.

Board hearings are administrative in nature and less formal than a courtroom proceeding. Parties are allowed legal representation of their choice at their own expense. All testimony is taken under oath and all oral proceedings are recorded. Parties have a right to appeal an adverse decision to Superior Court.

  New Hampshire Department of Safety | 33 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964
nh | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy