New Hampshire College Tuition Savings Plan Advisory Commission Minutes of the Special Meeting of November 22, 2019

The November 22, 2019 meeting of the New Hampshire College Tuition Savings Plan Advisory Commission ("Advisory Commission"), held at the offices of the New Hampshire Higher Education Assistance Foundation in Concord, was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by State Treasurer, Bill Dwyer.

Members present, constituting a quorum, were:

Tori Berube Vice President, representing the NH Higher

Education Assistance Foundation Organizations

Sr. Paula Buley President, Rivier University

Representing the Higher Education Commission –

Dept. of Education

Lou D'Allesandro State Senator

Joseph Doiron Representing the Governor; Deputy Director Office

of Strategic Initiatives

Bill Dwyer State Treasurer

Ross Gittell Chancellor, Community College System of New

Hampshire ("CCSNH")

Jay Kahn State Senator

Jay Knower Public Member, appointed by the Governor

Todd Leach Chancellor, University System of New Hampshire

Peter Leishman State Representative

Debby Scire Interim President & CEO, representing the New

Hampshire College and University Council

("NHCUC")

Kenneth Weyler State Representative

Members absent were:

Robert Lynn Public Member, appointed by the Governor; Retired

Chief Justice

Also present at the meeting was Dr. Edward MacKay, former Commission member, Ms. Mackenzie from Nashua Community College, Joel Maiola, member of the public, and Monica Mezzapelle from State Treasury.

Treasurer Dwyer began the meeting welcoming everyone, followed by introductions. Treasurer Dwyer then proceeded with the election of a new chairperson. Prior to opening the floor for nominations, Treasurer Dwyer mentioned that administrative rule Csp 102.04 provided specific instructions regarding the election of certain officers. The rule requires that, in addition to a chairperson, another member of the Commission shall serve as a vice chairperson and the State Treasurer shall serve as the secretary. Over the years, a vice chairperson had not been elected and the recent membership change was presenting an opportunity to meet all of the requirements established in the rules. After Treasurer Dwyer's remarks, Dr. Leach first nominated Ms. Berube,

College Savings Plan Advisory Commission Minutes of the Special Meeting – November 22, 2019 Page 2 of 3

however, Mr. Berube respectfully declined. Representative Weyler nominated Dr. Leach. Senator D'Allesandro seconded the nomination. Treasurer Dwyer inquired whether there were any other nominations. Seeing none, Senator D'Allesandro moved to close the nominations and asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for Dr. Todd Leach to be the chairman of the Commission. Representative Weyler seconded the motion. Treasurer Dwyer then filed one vote on behalf of the Commission electing Dr. Leach as the chairperson for the Advisory Commission. Dr. Leach suggested that the election of the vice chairperson should be moved to the next Commission meeting to allow more time for consideration as to who may be able to serve as the vice chairperson. The matter was to be added to the business of the December 9th meeting.

New Responsibilities Pursuant to HB4, Budget Trailer Bill: Governor Scholarship Program

Treasurer Dwyer and Ms. Mezzapelle provided an overview of the Governor's Scholarship Program, as amended by HB 4, Laws of 2019 (budget trailer bill), and outlined some of the new responsibilities of the Advisory Commission as a result of transferring the program administration from the Office of Strategic Initiatives to the Advisory Commission. Commission members held an engaged discussion and identified a few takeaways for the next (or future) Commission meeting(s). State Treasury will:

- Clarify appropriations pertaining to the Dual and Concurrent Program within the Community College System of New Hampshire established during the 2018-2019 biennial budget, which were partly funded from the Governor's Scholarship Program appropriations.
- Provide the available (unspent) balance of the Governor's Scholarship Program, on a cash basis, as of June 30, 2019.
- Provide information regarding eligible students for the Governor's Scholarship Program versus the UNIQUE Annual Allocation Program.
- Provide billing information and number of students institutions have billed for during the two fiscal years the program has been in operation.

The Advisory Commission also voted to proceed as follows:

- Mr. Doiron moved, and Senator D'Allesandro seconded, to authorize the State Treasurer to execute participation agreements with higher education institution pursuant to administrative rule Stra 1107. The motion was unanimously approved.
- Senator D'Allesandro moved to authorize the State Treasurer to initiate the amendment of administrative rules pertaining to the Governor's Scholarship Program. Representative Weyler seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.
- Senator D'Allesandro moved to table the approval of the Award Allocation Amount for the 2020-21 academic year pursuant to Stra 1103 until the next meeting in order to evaluate the additional information that will be provided. Representative Weyler seconded the motion. The item was tabled until the next meeting.

College Savings Plan Advisory Commission Minutes of the Special Meeting – November 22, 2019 Page 3 of 3

Hearing no other business, Dr. Leach requested a motion to adjourn. Senator D'Allesandro moved, and Rep. Weyler seconded the motion. Dr. Leach adjourned the meeting at 11:30 a.m.

NOTE: The next regular meeting is scheduled for Monday, December 9, 2019 beginning at 10:00 a.m. at the New Hampshire Higher Education Assistance Foundation in Concord. There will be no Investment Committee meeting.