skip navigationNH Web Site
clear
State of New Hampshire State Police
clear
Missing Persons | Wanted Persons | Criminal Offenders | Troop Stations | Searchclear
clear

 
Support Services Bureau
Permits and Licensing Unit
Frequently Asked Questions

 
  • Am I required to obtain a Resident or Non-Resident Concealed carry license within the State of New Hampshire if I choose to carry a handgun or revolver, loaded or unloaded, on my person or in my vehicle?
    Effective February 22, 2017, NH RSA 159:6 License to Carry was amended to no longer require a resident or non-resident to obtain a license to carry a pistol or revolver concealed . A license to carry a pistol or revolver concealed is now voluntary.

    Residents and non-residents who wish to continue participating in the concealed license system will continue to file applications with either their Town or City as previously required, or in the case of a non-resident seeking a license to carry, an application will need to be filed with the Division of State Police, Permits and Licensing Unit. Pursuant to RSA 159:6, I, licenses will be issued “….if it appears that the applicant has good reason to fear injury to the applicant’s person or property or has any proper purpose unless the applicant is prohibited by New Hampshire or federal statute from possessing a firearm.” Please refer to RSA 159 for additional information.

back to top
  • What is the benefit of obtaining a resident or non-resident concealed carry license?
    Licenses issued from the State of New Hampshire may be required for residents and non-residents seeking to carry under a reciprocity agreement within another State.
back to top
  • If I choose to renew my Non-Resident Pistol License, do I still need to provide references?
    Yes. The application needs to be completed in its entirety at each time of application. Incomplete applications will be returned.
back to top
  • How long does it take to process applications submitted to the Permits and Licensing Unit?
    Applications are processed within 14 days of receipt. If the application is denied, the applicant will receive written notification of the reason for such denial. If you have not received a response within that time frame, please feel free to call us at permitsandlicensing@dos.nh.gov.
back to top
  • How can I receive a duplicate NH Non-Resident Pistol License?
    Please forward a letter to NH State Police, Permits and Licensing Unit, 33 Hazen Drive, Concord NH 03305 explaining the reason for your request and include a fee of $3.00 made out to State of New Hampshire - Treasurer.
back to top
  • How do I submit an address change on a NH Non-Resident Pistol License?
    Please forward a letter to NH State Police, Permits and Licensing Unit, 33 Hazen Drive, Concord NH 03305 notifying us of the change of address, including the old and new address. If you would like to receive a license that reflects the new address, enclose a fee of $3.00 made out to State of New Hampshire - Treasurer.
back to top
   
 
New Hampshire Department of Safety | 33 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964
transparent graphic
nh NH.gov | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy