New Hampshire law allows access to the FBI criminal history record database by select non-criminal justice agencies. The FBI record database is fingerprint supported, and thus requires the applicant to submit his or her fingerprint images to the State Police for processing through the FBI.
Applicant fingerprints may be captured by one of two ways: inked or digitally.
The inked process requires the applicant to have ink applied to his or her fingers and rolled onto a fingerprint card. The card will be returned to the respective hiring or licensing agency from where the applicant originally applied. The agency will in turn forward the card to the State Police for further processing.
Digitally capturing fingerprint images requires the use of a livescan device. Livescans are located in several state police maintained livescan sites and select law enforcement agencies. The livescan will capture both fingerprint images and demographic information, and electronically transmit that data to the State Police for further processing. The result of the FBI database search by electronic submission is usually within five to seven business days.
Whether the applicant fingerprints are captured by ink or livescan, it is imperative that the correct New Hampshire statutory cite (RSA) is noted that authorizes access to the FBI record database for that applicant.
FBI Fee Schedule
The FBI fees for submitting fingerprint cards by non-criminal justice users are:
- Inked fingerprint cards - $30.25
- Electronic submission (livescan) - $19.25
- Volunteers (inked or electronic) - $15.25
Combined fees with the New Hampshire state record check are:
- Inked fingerprint cards - $55.25
- Electronic submission - $44.25
- Volunteers (inked or electronic) - $25.25
- * Fingerprints captured at state police maintained livescan sites will charge a $10.00 administrative fee; local law enforcement agencies may also charge an administrative fee.