skip navigationNH Web Site
State of New Hampshire State Police
Missing Persons | Wanted Persons | Criminal Offenders | Troop Stations | Searchclear

News and Events

For Immediate Release
January 12, 2016
For more information contact:
Lieutenant Nicole Armaganian
(603) 223-8778

Safety Tip Reminder for Truck Drivers

The New Hampshire State Police would like to remind all Motor Carriers and truck drivers of the hazards of snow and ice accumulation on their vehicles during the winter season. Snow and ice falling from a moving truck can create hazardous driving conditions for vehicles travelling around them and could possibly result in a crash, fines, and/or civil liability for failing to take reasonable steps to remove the snow or ice accumulations.

Under New Hampshire State law a driver can be cited for driving a vehicle in a manner that "endangers" or "is likely to endanger any person or property."

265:79-b Negligent Driving. – Whoever upon any way drives a vehicle negligently or causes a vehicle to be driven negligently, as defined in RSA 626:2, II(d), or in a manner that endangers or is likely to endanger any person or property shall be guilty of a violation and shall be fined not less than $250 nor more than $500 for a first offense and not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 for a second or subsequent offense].

Large amounts of snow accumulating on a vehicle or trailer often melts and refreezes during cold temperatures causing buildup of ice that can often damage vehicles when falling from a truck. Early removal of the snow after a snowstorm is the best way to prevent such ice from accumulating. It is also very important for drivers of all vehicles to leave sufficient space when following large trucks to give themselves enough time to react in the event that something does fall from a large truck or trailer.

New Hampshire Department of Safety | 33 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964
transparent graphic
nh | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy