skip navigationOfficial State of NH Site
DOS Logo DOS Banner

Prosecution Unit

The Department of Safety Prosecution Unit provides prosecution assistance to the State Police, State Fire Marshall, Marine Patrol and State Hospital Campus Police.

Mission Statement

Our mission is to provide highly competent and professional prosecution services for Department of Safety law enforcement agencies and to fairly, effectively and efficiently enforce the laws of the State of New Hampshire. We view this mission as a partnership between us, law enforcement, the Courts, the defense bar and the citizens of New Hampshire.


Due to the large coverage area, the state has been divided into primary courts, secondary courts and DWI courts.

For the primary courts, the Prosecution Unit accepts and prosecutes only felonies and misdemeanors (except for the Manchester Circuit Court, where the prosecution unit also routinely prosecutes violation offenses.) Attorney coverage for violation level offenses in other primary courts may be available to law enforcement upon request.

For secondary courts the law enforcement agency is primarily responsible for their own prosecution. However, we will accept cases that require the assistance of an attorney upon request of the arresting officer or their supervisor. The designated prosecutor will file an appearance when covering a case in a secondary court.

For DWI courts an attorney is assigned to handle all aspects of any DWI in that court but the court is otherwise treated as a secondary court.

To provide improved representation and streamline prosecution efforts, our prosecutors have been decentralized to three satellite locations - Troop Station A in Epping, Troop Station B in Bedford and Troop Station D in Concord. For more information on contacting a prosecutor, please see the bottom of this page.

Current Assignments

  • Brentwood – Vacant (DWI Court)
  • Candia – Vacant
  • Claremont- Attorney James Shepard
  • Concord – Attorney Charles O'Leary
  • Conway- Vacant
  • Dover – Vacant
  • Derry – Attorney Patricia O'Brien (DWI Court)
  • Franklin – Attorney Charles O'Leary
  • Hampton – Vacant
  • Hooksett – Attorney Charles O'Leary
  • Jaffrey- Attorney James Shepard
  • Keene – Attorney James Shepard
  • Laconia- Vacant
  • Manchester – Attorney Patricia O'Brien
  • Merrimack – Attorney Patricia O'Brien
  • Nashua – Vacant
  • Newport- Attorney James Shepard
  • Ossipee- Vacant
  • Portsmouth – Vacant (DWI Court)
  • Plymouth - Vacant
  • Rochester – Vacant (DWI Court)
  • Salem – Attorney Patricia O'Brien

Primary responsibility for prosecution of Secondary Courts rests with the law enforcement officer who handled the case or their court officer, if applicable. As of 12/19/2018 those court officers are:

Troop "A" Court Officer
Troop "B" Court Officer
Troop "C" Court Officer
TFC Michael Shupe
603-223-8613 (office)
Tr. Mark Dore
603-223-8682 (office)
603-666-3338 (fax)
Tr. Scott Ellis
603-223-8731 (office)
603-358-6749 (fax)
Troop "D" Court Officer
Troop "E" Court Officer
Troop "F" Court Officer
Tr. Kevin Noonan
603-223-8951 (office)
Tr. Clinton Trussell
603-223-8794 (office)
603-223-8113 (Fax)
Tr. Meredith Favreau
603-223-8819 (office)
Troop "G" Court Officer
contact arresting/citing trooper directly
Troop G general number:

Attorney and Staff Contact Information:

Attorney Paralegal
Troop A
315 Calef Hwy.
Epping, 03042
603-223-4360 (office)
603-679-8112 (fax)
Jay Robicheau
603-223-8362 (office)
603-679-8112 (fax)
Patricia A. O'Brien
Troop B
16 East Point Dr.
Bedford, 03110
603-223-8997 (office)
603-666-3338 (fax)
Jennifer Kosowicz
603-223-8989 (office)
603-666-3338 (fax)
James A. Shepard
Troop C
15 Ash Brook Court
Keene, NH 03431
(603) 545-2784 (cell)
(603) 223-8807 (office)
(603) 358-6749 (fax)
Kim Sevigny
603-223-8735 (office)
(603) 358-6749 (fax)
Charles F. O'Leary
Troop D
139 Iron Works Rd.
Concord, 03301
603-340-5408 (cell)
603-223-8948 (office)
603-225-2375 (fax)
Andrea Hart
603-223-8039 (office)
603-225-2375 (fax)
Troop E
1864 White Mountain Highway
Tamworth, NH 03886
Mailing Address:
PO Box 235
West Ossipee, NH 03890
Phone: (603) 223-8653
Fax: (603) 323-8113
Patricia Gordon
603-223-8808 (office)
603-323-8113 (fax)
Troop F
549 Route 302
Twin Mountain, NH 03595
Mailing Address:
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
  New Hampshire Department of Safety | 33 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964
nh | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy