New Hampshire Department of Safety
Division of Fire Standards and Training
& Emergency Medical Services
BUREAU USE ONLY

Mailing Address: NHFSTEMS - 33 Hazen Drive - Concord, NH 03305
Physical Address: 98 Smokey Bear Boulevard - Concord, NH 03301
Phones: Toll Free: (800) 371-4503 Local: (603) 223-4200

Fax: (603) 271-4567 Email: emslicensing@dos.nh.gov

New Hampshire Bureau of EMS
EMS Instructor/Coordinator License Application

Complete this form electronically so that all drop-down boxes are accessible and the form is legible, OR using black ink, a
legibly printed application will be accepted upon completion.

Type of License Requested: INITIAL D RENEWAL D

APPLICANT INFORMATION

Full Legal Name:

FIRST M.I. LAST DATE OF BIRTH
Mailing Street / PO Box:
Address:  Town/City: State: Zip:
Contact Phone Number: Fax Number:

Email Address:
EMS Unit Affiliation:
National Registry (NR) Number:

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSING (INITIAL)

Shall provide proof (Legible copies of documents and certificates must be attached)

1. At minimum, copy of a high school diploma or GED;

Proof of successful completion of one of the following; (See reverse for explanation, then check below)

’ EI A program that meets / exceeds the standards set forth of USDOT NHTSA 1996 EMS Instructor
' Training Program: National Standard Curricula (copy of completion certificate required)

NH Professional Educator Challenge Process

Current registration at the minimum of EMT with the National Registry and registered at or above the
classification level of the program(s) to be instructed,;

4 Affiliation with a licensed EMS Unit, which at minimum, shall be at the provider level of the program(s) to be
" instructed;

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSING (RENEWAL)

L level of the program(s) to be instructed;

5 Affiliation with a licensed EMS Unit, which at minimum, shall be at the provider level of the program(s) to be
" instructed;

3. Successful completion in the previous two (2) years of the following;
a. At minimum, 20 hours of instruction in Division authorized training programs;
Course #'s:
Course #'s:

Course #'s:

b. At minimum, attendance at six (6) hours of continuing education related to improving teaching skills such
as educational methodology or Division sponsored I/C Enhancements (if program(s) are not Division approved
please submit a legible certificate of completion):
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Current registration at the minimum of EMT with the National Registry and registered at or above the classification




EMS 1/C LICENSE APPLICATION - Page 2

Date: Topic: Location:
Date: Topic: Location:
Date: Topic: Location:

c. Attendance of EMS I/C updates as required by the Division, which shall be 20 hours or less.

“All statements and accompanying documents are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, and | understand
that any falsification will result in disqualification.”

Applicant’s Signature: Date:

Section 7: BUREAU USE ONLY

Please return completed License Application to: Instructor/Coordinator Licensing
Bureau of EMS = 33 Hazen Drive = Concord, NH 03305

NR: NH License: Instructor CPR: I/C License:
ACCEPTEDEI DENIED D INITIAL: DATE:

Section 8: NOTICE TO ALL APPLICANTS

USDOT NHTSA 1996 TRAINING PROGRAM: NATIONAL STANDARD CURRICULUM

These 48/60 hour programs are distributed by the United States Department of Transportation (USDOT), National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration (NHTSA) and contain the standards and curricula outline for EMS Instructor Training, 1996 version / 2002 revision. These include
both a practical performance evaluation and a written examination, as outlined in the standards of the curricula. Examples of successful completion
of either of these programs could be an instructor training certificate issued by a State EMS Office or the New England Council for Emergency
Medical Services.

NH PROFESSIONAL EDUCATOR CHALLENGE PROCESS

Each applicant for an initial EMS I/C license shall provide the following with the application:

(1) At minimum, copies of a high school diploma or GED;

(2) Proof of current registration at the minimum EMT classification level with the National Registry and registered at or above the classification level
of the program to be instructed;

(3) A current EMS provider’s license, which at minimum, shall be at the provider level of the program to be instructed; and

(4) Proof of successful completion of an instructor training program approved by the Division.

Eligible candidates must have documented teaching experience in EMS, and must possess either a Bachelor’s or Advanced Level Degree in
Education, completed Educational Methodology training in a post-secondary educational setting or be an active licensed or certified instructor in
another State in Emergency Services programs. Once eligibility is determined, the applicant must:

« Submit two (2) letters of recommendation from currently licensed I/C NHEMS;

« Be assigned a twenty (20) minute cognitive presentation (EMS topic). A lesson plan shall be submitted at the time of the presentation, and shall
include all four steps of a cognitive lesson (Motivation / Preparation, Presentation, Application and Evaluation). If requested, the performance
expectation will be reviewed with the candidate prior to the test date, at a meeting with the designated staff member. The twenty (20) minute
presentation will be videotaped and evaluated by two (2) Division approved evaluators. The candidate has one attempt only to successfully
complete this presentation.

¢ Successfully complete the Fire and Emergency Services Instructor Il final cognitive examination (100 questions, NPQS accredited).

* The candidate has one attempt only to successfully complete this presentation.

Upon successful completion of all Instructor / Coordinator Licensing requirements candidates shall be issued a six (6) month provisional

license during which time the provisional instructor shall:

(1) Show completion of a minimum of 20 hours of instruction in training program(s) approved by the division, under the direct supervision and
preceptorship of an EMS I/C assigned by the Division;

(2) Attend an instructor orientation program for new EMS instructors conducted by the Division;

(3) Submit an evaluation approved by the division, completed and signed by the EMS I/C acting as the provisional instructor’s preceptor; and

(4) Complete a final evaluation authorized by the Division.

For more complete information, contact the NHBEMS at 1.888.827.5367
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