NH Fire Standards and Training Commission

MEETING MINUTES (Approved)

June 27, 2017 – Special Meeting RE Adoption of Administrative Rules

2:00PM

2nd Floor Conference Room, Dept. of Safety Building 33 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03305

FST Commission members present:

Jeremy Thibeault (Chair), Robert Buxton (Vice Chair), Richard C. Bailey, Jr., Stephen Carrier, Justin Cutting, J. William Degnan, J. Michael Joyal, Kevin Pratt, and Nancy Smith **(9)**

FST Commission members not present:

William Campbell, Amy C. Clark, Kerry M. LeBlanc, Peter Lennon, Richard P. McGahey, and Steven Sherman (6)

Division of Fire Standards and Training & EMS Staff:

Director Deborah A. Pendergast, Assistant Director Jeffrey Phillips and June Connor (3)

Others: Attorney David Hilts (1)

I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 2:03PM; a quorum was present with 8 in attendance at that time. A 9th member arrived 20 minutes later.

II. ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

Attorney Hilts explained the purpose of the meeting: To get a vote on the FST Commission's response to JLCAR's conditional approval of the rules that it granted the week before last. The FST Commission needs to vote on this response which was approved earlier in the day by Commissioner Barthelmes. With the response approved by the Commission, Attorney Hilts will electronically submit the rules to JLCAR. With its approval, the rules will be retitled as "Adopted Rule" and the FST Commission will have to vote on that as well. Then, the Chair of the FST Commission will sign the adoption letter.

Motion made (Smith/Buxton) – for a conditional approval response of the Administrative Rules; passed unanimously.

2:15PM: Attorney Hilts left the meeting to submit the response to JLCAR, and the meeting was recessed until his return.

2:25PM: With his return, the meeting was reconvened. He reported that JLCAR needed a cover letter. Chair Thibeault signed the letter, and the meeting was recessed again while Attorney Hilts left to submit it to JLCAR.

2:45PM: Upon his return for the second time, the meeting was called back to order. Attorney Hilts reported that we now have an adopted rule set with a new header that reads, "Adopted Rule". He explained that there will be some additional formatting which will split the document into 2 different sections in order to separate the rules that will expire from those that will not. All of the strike-throughs will also be removed.

Motion made (Smith/Buxton) – that with the formatting changes that will separate the rules into two separate documents, the FST Commission approves the adopted rules, passed unanimously.

Attorney Hilts was thanked for his efforts.

- **III. GOOD OF THE ORDER** (This item was discussed during the first recess in II.) **Academy Award nominations**: (for the September 25th Committee of Merit Awards and Recognition Presentation)
 - A discussion of Academy Award and Award of Excellence recipients was held, and the FST Commission members voted to approve the recommendations of 2 people for Academy Awards and 1 person for the Award of Excellence.
 - * Academy Award recipients: Captain John Keller and Denice McAdoo, on staff at the Division.
 - * Award of Excellence recipient: Ty Gagne, CEO of Primex

Motion made (Carrier/Degnan) – to accept the nominations for the Academy Awards and the Award of Excellence recommended by Director Pendergast, Chair Thibeault, and Commissioner Carrier, passed with an abstention from Commissioner Cutting.

IV. ADJOURNMENT

- Motion made (Buxton/Joyal) to adjourn the meeting at 2:48PM.
- Next scheduled meeting: September 7, 2017
- Remaining 2017 schedule: November 2, 2017

Respectfully submitted, Director Deborah A. Pendergast NH FST& EMS

Notes prepared by June Connor, Administrative Assistant I