NH Division of Motor Vehicles
NH Division of Motor Vehicles - an official New Hampshire Government Website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation

Press Release

For Immediate Release
March 17, 2020

Contact:
State Joint Information Center
(603) 223-6169

New NH DMV License and Registration Extension Options

Concord NH - Today, the NH DMV made available registration extensions for 20-day plates and license extension options for customers who would prefer to not come in to a DMV location.

Temporary Plate Extensions:

NH DMV 20-day plates as well as NH authorized dealer 20-day plates, issued on or after March 1, 2020 will now be given an automatic extension through April 30, 2020.

The following conditions apply to automatic registration extensions for 20-day plates:

  • The extension will be automatic and communicated with NH law enforcement, therefore no action from the public will be required to obtain an extension.
  • It is recommended that before traveling outside of NH that you contact the state(s) you are travelling to or through to see if your temporary plate will be honored.
  • This process does not apply to vehicle registration renewals, which are completed by municipalities. Please visit your town website for registration renewal options.

Driver License and Non-Driver ID Extensions:

NH DMV driver license and non-driver identification cards that are expired or set to expire between March 1, 2020 and April 30, 2020 will now be eligible for a 6-month extension. Customers who would like to take advantage of this option can call 603-227-4020 to complete the 6-month extension and do not need to visit a DMV location. An applicable renewal fee will be due at the time of the call.

The following conditions apply to driver license and non-driver identification cards extensions:

  • The 6-month extension will not apply to customers with Commercial Driver Licenses.
  • The DMV will verify eligibility and customer identity with the driver or identification card holder on the phone.
  • Once the transaction has been completed, a 6-month driver license or identification card will be mailed to the customer to the address on record.
  • At the expiration of the 6-month extension, the customer will be required to visit a DMV to obtain a new license for the remainder of the license period (4.5 years) at no additional cost.

Customers do not need to get a REAL ID to travel after October 2020 if they have other federally compliant identification such as a valid passport or U.S. military ID. Learn more at: https://www.tsa.gov/real-id.

Customers can also take advantage of the DMV’s online services, including online driver license renewal, ID renewals, and online ticket pay at www.nh.gov/dmv. Some towns allow for online registration renewals as well. Please visit your town website for additional information regarding online registration renewals.

The DMV asks for your patience as it anticipates extended wait times due to higher than normal call volume.


New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles | 23 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: RELAY NH (7-1-1)