NH Division of Motor Vehicles
NH Division of Motor Vehicles - an official New Hampshire Government Website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation

Financial Responsibility > Traffic Ticket Payment (Plea by Mail)

Respond to a Ticket

A ticket must be responded to within thirty (30) days from the date of issuance shown on the front of the ticket/citation, unless you have been instructed to appear in court or respond to the court directly.

If your response is not received within thirty (30) days:

  • The ticket/citation will be placed in Default Status;
  • An additional $50.00 administrative fee will be added to the original fine amount owed; and
  • Suspension of operating and/or registration priviliges may be initiated for failure to comply with or properly respond to the ticket/citation and additional Fees & Fines will be required to reinstate privileges.

Types of Responses

When responding to a ticket, you must submit one of the following pleas:

  • Guilty: Payment for the ticket/citation is required.
  • Nolo Contendere (no admission of guilt): Payment for the ticket/citation is required.
  • Not Guilty: No payment is due when entering the plea; however, if you are convicted by the NH Circuit Court, fines and penalties will be assessed and collected by the Court if applicable.

Possible demerit points may be assessed and may result in a Habitual Offender Certification. For more information, please review the Uniform Fine Schedule.

Methods of Response

 

Type of Response Types of Pleas available Special Instructions
Online Not Guilty
Nolo Contendere
Guilty
For pleas of Guilty and Nolo Contendere payment by credit card is required.
Telephone
(800)272-0036
(603)227-4070
Nolo Contendere
Guilty
Payment by credit card is required.
By Mail
NH DMV
Bureau of Financial Responsibility
PO Box 3838
Concord NH 03301
Not Guilty
Nolo Contendere
Guilty
Please be sure to indicate a plea on your citation by checking the appropriate box on the reverse side of the ticket. Please make checks payable to "State of NH - DMV." Please do not mail cash.
By Drop Box
Concord DMV Office only
Not Guilty
Nolo Contendere
Guilty
Please be sure to indicate a plea on your citation by checking the appropriate box on the reverse side of the ticket. Please make checks payable to "State of NH - DMV." Please do not leave cash. Transactions placed in the drop box take 3 to 5 business days to process.

 


New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles | 23 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH 03305
TDD Access: RELAY NH (7-1-1)