

State of New Hampshire

Public Employee Labor Relations Board

National Correctional Employees Union

v.

Rockingham County Department of Corrections

Case No. G-0140-8 Decision No. 2018-169

Order

The County filed a motion for rehearing and suspension of decision of PELRB Decision No. 2018-106 (July 17, 2018) on August 16, 2018. The Union filed an objection on August 23, 2018. On September 11, 2018 the County filed a motion for clarification of PELRB Decision No. 2018-106.

Motions for rehearing are governed by RSA 541:3 and Pub 205.02, which provides in part as follows:

Pub 205.02 Motion for Rehearing.

(a) Any party to a proceeding before the board may move for rehearing with respect to any matter determined in that proceeding or included in that decision and order within 30 days after the board has rendered its decision and order by filing a motion for rehearing under RSA 541:3. The motion for rehearing shall set out a clear and concise statement of the grounds for the motion. Any other party to the proceeding may file a response or objection to the motion for rehearing provided that within 10 days of the date the motion was filed, the board shall grant or deny a motion for rehearing, or suspend the order or decision complained of pending further consideration, in accordance with RSA 541:5.

We have considered the County's filings as they relate to our decision. In particular, we note that in its motion for rehearing the County mischaracterizes the board's decision as set forth in the decision summary on pages 7-8 and in the decision on page 14. As to the motion for clarification, the complete grounds for rehearing should have been set forth in the motion for rehearing, and the board's decision is otherwise clear as set forth on pages 7-8 and 14. The County's motion for rehearing and suspension of decision is denied, as is the motion for

So ordered.

clarification.

Date: 9/14/18

Peter Callaghan, Esq., Alternate Chair

By unanimous vote of Alternate Chair Peter Callaghan, Esq., Board Member James M. O'Mara, and Board Member Senator Mark Hounsell.

Distribution:

Elizabeth A. Bailey, Esq. John Richardson, Esq. Paul Brunetti, Esq.