

State of New Hampshire

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

MILFORD SCHOOL DISTRICT

Complainant

v.

:

.....

MILFORD TEACHERS ASSOCIATION and MILFORD CERT ASSOCIATION/NEA-NEW HAMPSHIRE

Respondent

CASE NO. T-0281:8 T-0344:14

DECISION NO. 92-184

MOTION TO STAY ARBITRATION

:

The Board, meeting at its offices in Concord, New Hampshire, on December 3, 1992, took the following actions:

- 1. It reviewed the District's Petitions for Declaratory Judgment and Motions to Stay Arbitration, both filed September 21, 1992 as well as the Associations' Objections to those Petitions and Motions to Stay Arbitration, both filed October 6, 1992.
- 2. It reviewed the collective bargaining agreements for both units, noting that both are effective for the dates July 1, 1991 to June 30, 1993 and that both contain a binding, five-step grievance procedure relative to "violations, misinterpretations or inequitable application of the provisions" of those agreements.
- 3. It heard arguments by representatives of each side with respect to pending pleadings and motions, inclusive of testimony from the Superintendent that at least one new teacher had been placed on the "frozen" salary schedule based on experience while "old" teachers were "frozen" on the salary schedule based on their 1991-92 placement. It noted that all track entitlements, versus step entitlements, have

been paid for school year 1992-93 inclusive of increases if increased qualifications made unit members eligible for those increases.

- 4. It DENIED the District's Motions to Stay Arbitration.
- 5. It directs the parties to notify the PELRB within thirty (30) days of the date of the arbitrator's award in this matter if further hearings in this matter are requested. If no such request for further hearings is made within the thirty (30) day time period, the pending Petition for Declaratory Judgment shall be dismissed from the PELRB's docket of cases.

So ordered.

Signed this 8th day of December, 1992.

VACK BUCKLEY

Alternate Chairman

By unanimous vote. Alternate Chairman Jack Buckley presiding. Members Seymour Osman and E. Vincent Hall present and voting.