

State of New Hampshire

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

::

:

: : : : :

CITY	OF LACONIA	
		Petitioner
	v.	
	EMPLOYEES' S.E.I.U.,	ASSOCIATION OF LOCAL 1984
		Respondent

CASE NO. S-0384

DECISION NO. 90-111

MOTION FOR REHEARING

On May 24, 1990, PELRB issued a unanimous decision on the composition of the clerical, technical, trade and administrative employees, full and permanent part-time, in the office of the City Manager, Depts. of Personnel/Purchasing, Fiscal, Maintenance, Fire, Tax, City Clerk, Public Works and Community Development.

An election was held on June 15, 1990 at City Hall in Laconia resulting in a 23 to 13 vote in favor of the State Employees' Association and the unit certified as of that date.

Counsel for the City on June 12, 1990 filed a Motion for Rehearing and Reconsideration on the inclusions of several positions: i.e., secretary in the Youth Services Bureau; secretary in the Community Development office; technicians in the Community Development office; and, the Personnel and Purchasing Director's administrative secretary.

The State Employees' Association objected to the Motion for Rehearing and Reconsideration on the basis that Counsel for the City presented lengthy arguments on exclusions of these positions at the original hearing.

DECISION

After careful review of all testimony at the original hearing and the fact that all observers were instructed prior to the voting that should the City wish to challenge the inclusion of any of the voters, it should do so when the voter came in to pick up his/her ballot. Instructions were repeated to all observers and to the Personnel Director. The only voter challenged was Barbara Mattson who holds the position of Administrative Secretary to the Personnel and Purchasing Director, making the reconsideration of other positions invalid. PELRB reviewed the evidence on inclusion of the administrative secretary again and reaffirms its original decision to include the position in the certified unit.

Motion for Rehearing and Reconsideration is hereby DENIED.

Signed this 18th day of October, 1990.

Chairm

By unanimous vote. Chairman Edward J. Haseltine presiding. Members Seymour Osman and E. Vincent Hall present and voting. Also present, Executive Director, Evelyn C. LeBrun.