STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

STATE EMPLOYEES' ASSOCIATION OF NEW HAMPSHIRE, INC.

CASE NO. S-0349

and

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

DECISION NO. 80011

DECISION

On November 9, 1979, the State Employees' Association (SEA) submitted a petition for modification of existing bargaining units within the State of New Hampshire (State), in which they sought to separate supervisory personnel from "Grandfathered" units and create a separate unit and also include supervisory employees from other departments.

James E. Townsend, Assistant Attorney General on behalf of the State objected to the modification on the basis of the Board's earlier dismissal of Case No. S-0328, SEA v. Treasury, et al and Case No. S-0329, SEA v. Insurance Department, et al.

A hearing was held on January 24, 1980 with John Ratoff, Chief Negotiator for the State and Kathy Duval, Field Representative for SEA, present. By mutual agreement, the Chief Negotiator spoke for the parties. He stated that the State Negotiating Committee (SNC) was not in opposition to the formation of a Supervisory Unit. They felt, however, that (a) clarification on inclusion of supervisory in all units was necessary, (b) an agreement on the exact definition of "supervisory employees", should be reached, (c) an opportunity afforded to exclude positions of confidentiality and (d) a resolution on the question of the currently certified supervisory unit in the Water Supply and Pollution Control Commission.

Before answering the above, the parties sought PELRB's position on the previously dismissed Cases, S-0328 and S-0329. They also requested PELRB grant them sixty days in order to reach an agreement and jointly submit a petition for one supervisory unit for the State.

- On January 24, 1980 PELRB granted an extension of sixty days to SEA and SNC to jointly petition for one Supervisory Unit within the State of New Hampshire.
- B. Joint petition to be submitted no later than March 25, 1980.

EDWARD J. HASELTINE, CHAIRMAN

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

Signed this 13th day of February, 1980

By unanimous vote. Chairman Edward J. Haseltine presiding, members Robert Steele