#### STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

#### PUBLIC EMPLOYEE LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

UNITED PUBLIC SERVANTS UNION, LOCAL 7

CASE NO. M-0517:1

v

DECISION NO. 80008

STRAFFORD COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

## **APPEARANCES**

# Representing United Public Servants Union, Local 7:

James Guyett, N. H. Representative NAGE

# Representing the Strafford County Commissioners:

Terry Casey, Administrative Assistant John J. Flanagan, Commissioner George A. Young, County Clerk

### Also in attendance:

Robert Drew, Chairman, Strafford County Labor Subcommittee Helene Donnelly, Representative, N. H. House Henry Pinkham Jean Doherty, Member of Local 7 Carol Gagnon, Member of Local 7 Jacqueline Smith, Member of Local 7

## BACKGROUND

On December 31, 1979, United Public Servants Union, Local 7, by its representative, James Guyett, filed unfair labor practice charges against the Strafford County Commissioners for alleged violations of RSA 273-A:5, I (a), "To restrain, coerce or otherwise interfere with its employees in the exercise of the rights conferred by this chapter; (e), "To refuse to negotiate in good faith with the exclusive representative of a bargaining unit, including the failure to submit to the legislative body any cost item agreed in negotiations; and (g), "To fail to comply with this chapter or any rule adopted under this chapter." Basically, Local 7 complained that the Commissioners implemented a classification plan which involved a wage survey and did not allow input from the exclusive representative.

The Board accepted evidence and testimony from all parties of interest and took the case under advisement; however, pending a decision on the charges, the Board issued the following order:

### ORDER

- A. The parties are hereby ordered to return to the negotiating table and conduct good faith negotiations on all issues,
- B. Progress reports are to be submitted by both parties to this Board on February 15th and March 1st.

EDWARD J. HASELTINE, CHAIRMAN

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

Signed this 28th day of January, 1980.

Unanimous vote of the Board. Chairman Edward J. Haseltine presiding, members Robert D. Steele and Joseph B. Moriarty present and voting. Also present, Executive Director, Evelyn C. LeBrun.