STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

Declaratory Judgment : SUPERVISORY UNION THIRTY-TWO : MASCOMA VALLEY REGIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICT :

CASE NO. T-0290:2 DECISION NO. 80006

APPEARANCES

Representing the Mascoma Valley Regional School District:

John B. Hammond, Chairman, School Board Paul D. Rice, Assistant Superintendent Edwin C. Johnson, School Board Member

Representing the Mascoma Valley Teachers' Association:

John Fessenden, UniServ Director, NHEA/NEA
Mary N. Dickenson, Mascoma Teachers' Association
John H. Moses " " "
G. Hardy " "

BACKGROUND

On December 26, 1979, the Mascoma Valley Regional School Board requested PELRB render a definitive ruling on the language "This salary schedule shall be implemented", as to its negotiability; i.e., permissive or mandatory.

The School District's position was that the language was not legally negotiable under the language of 273-A:12, V. and based on their opinion that such language would exceed the authority granted to school boards by the appropriate legislative body, quoting the statute which states:

"no such procedure shall bind the legislative body on matters regarding cost items."

The Teachers Association declared impasse and on January 3, 1980 requested PERLB appoint a mediator to help resolve their dispute.

PELRB held a hearing on January 17, 1980 to hear arguments from both parties. After hearing the testimony, they issued the following verbal decision:

DECISION AND ORDER

Pending full decision on the negotiability of the language in question, the Board issued the following temporary order:

- A. Both parties are hereby ordered to conduct three good faith negotiating sessions on all items in dispute prior to declaring impasse and pending a decision of this Board on the declaratory judgment.
- B. Further, the parties are ordered to furnish this Board with a progress report at the end of the second negotiating session.

EDWARD J. HASELTINE, Chairman

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

Signed this 24th day of January, 1980

By unanimous vote of the Board: Chairman Haseltine presiding, members Anderson and Cummings present and voting. Also present, Executive Director Evelyn C. LeBrun.