New Hampshire Board of Nursing
GENERAL LICENSING QUESTIONS

The NH Board of Nursing presents the following information on this site as a public service to our applicants and other potential licensees
relevant to licensure in New Hampshire only. No representation is made about the licensure processes in other jurisdictions. While the
information on this site is about NH licensing processes, it is only a guideline and not all inclusive to all matters.

1. What does License by Exam mean?

License by Exam is the process used to pursue a nursing license in New Hampshire If you have completed a nursing program but
have not yet taken or successfully passed the National Council Licensure Exam.

All Boards of Nursing within states and territories of the United States require candidates to pass this exam. As of 2015, 10
provincial/territorial RN regulators in Canada have also chosen the NCLEX and the National Council of State Boards of Nursing
(NCSBN) as the provider of the Canadian entry-to-practice exam.

2. What does License by Endorsement mean?

Endorsement is also referred to as Reciprocity. This process is used to pursue a nursing license in New Hampshire if you have
never held a NH nursing license before but have already successfully passed the NCLEX and currently hold an active nursing
license within one or more of the states and/or territories of the United States. Endorsement applicants are required to have 400
hours of active-in-practice within the immediate previous 4 years.

3. Isasocial security number required?

Yes, a SSN is required to apply for licensure. Your social security number (SSN) is required for licensure under the authority
granted by and pursuant to New Hampshire Statute, RSA 161-B:11, VI-a: The social security number of any applicant for a
professional license, commercial driver's license, occupational license, or marriage license shall be recorded on the application,
provided that if the use of a number other than the social security number is allowed, the applicant shall be so advised. Any
application required by this section to contain a social security number shall be confidential and not subject to the right to know
law. The use of such number shall be limited to proceedings or actions to establish paternity or to establish or enforce support and
shall only be provided to or entered in any out-of-state or federal data base for those cases for which the department is providing
services.

4. Does the state of NH require a criminal background check?

All LPNs and RNs applying for original licensure in the State of NH are required to complete the FBI finger printing and criminal
background check process. Results are valid up to 6 months. Refer to the link for additional information:
http://www.nh.gov/nursing/enforcement/obtain-criminal-background-check.htm

5. How long does it take to process an application?
Processing time varies depending on how quickly all the elements of an application come together.
An applicant is allowed a maximum of 180 days to complete the process from the date the application is received at the board

office. Any applications not complete within 180 days, are considered expired and will be removed from our system.

6. Where do I find the application?

Printable application packets can be obtained at: http://www.nh.gov/nursing/forms/index.htm which will include the

instructions, explanation of requirements and documents required for submission.

7. How can | pay for my application fee?

Cash, check, money order, or credit card (MasterCard, Visa and Discover) is accepted. The payment must be in United States funds
from a bank with a United States affiliate and is non-refundable. Payment must be paid and is porcessed at the time an application
is submitted to the office.


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Board_of_nursing
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canada
http://www.nh.gov/nursing/enforcement/obtain-criminal-background-check.htm
http://www.nh.gov/nursing/forms/index.htm

8. If my application is denied, will | get my money back?

All fees are non-refundable. It is suggested to email the Board at boardquestions@nursing.state.nh.us with any unanswered
questions before submitting your applicaton.

9. How do I know if the NH Board of Nursing has received the information that was requested for my file?

Applicants are expected to read instructions carefully and are responsible to submit all requirements within the allowed time
frame. You may inquire about a submitted application status by email boardquestions@nursing.state.nh.us and someone from
the office will respond accordingly.

10. Who can | contact about my application?

Questions about the application process or status can be emailed to: boardquestions@nursing.state.nh.us.

11. How do I access my license information?

NH Board of Nursing does not issue paper licenses. Licensees need to reference the “On-line Verification & Nursing Assistant
Registry” quick link on our website to access license status and information. Only enter the profession plus your first and last
name and do not enter your SSN. Once your name appears, click on it, and the details of your license should appear. We suggest
you print that screen for your records. Employers will use the same link to verify your license information.

12. When do | need to renew my license once it’s issued?

Licenses cannot surpass 2 birthdays and will expire on midnight on your second birthday from the date the license was issued.

For the first renewal, you will most likely need to renew your license before our standard 2 year period. After the first renewal,
licenses are required to be renewed no later then midnight on your birthday every 2 years.

It is suggested to complete the renewal process about 4 to 6 weeks in advance of your birthday to avoid any last minute problems
that might-cause additional fees and/or fines.
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