Center for the Book Logo Center for the Book at the New Hampshire State Library
About the Center
Join the Center
NH's Literary Community
NH's Literary Tradition
Programs & Activities
  New Hampshire Authors' Room
  Granite State Readers Recommend
  Ladybug Picture Book Award
  International Impac Dublin Literary Award
  Letters about Literature
  Granite State Reads
  New Hampshire Literary Awards
News & Events
Programs & Activities  

Ladybug red and green logo

> Ladybug Award

The 2018 nominees for the Ladybug Picture Book Award are:

  • After the Fall (How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again) by Dan Santat
  • Bunny's Book Club by Annie Silvestro and Tatjana Mai-Wyss 
  • Charlotte the Scientist is Squished by Camille Andros and Brianne Farley 
  • Hello Goodbye Dog by Maria Gianferrari and Patrice Barton 
  • Jabari Jumps by Gaia Cornwall 
  • Not Quite Narwhal by Jessie Sima 
  • Pocket Full of Colors: The Magical world of Mary Blair, Disney Artist Extraordinaire by Amy Guglielmo and Jacqueline Tourville
  • La Princesa and the Pea by Susan Middleton Elya and Juana Martinez-Neal 
  • The Rooster Who Would Not Be Quiet by Carmen Agra Deedy and Eugene Yelchin 
  • A Small Thing…But Big by Tony Johnston and Hadley Hooper

ladybug border

Voting and promotional materials

We have created a set of 8.5x11 pdfs that can be used to promote the Ladybug Picture Book Award. Each one is a color pdf and where there is space for you to add your own message (story time hours perhaps?) we have inlcluded a word document you can use to create your message. If you print the pdf and then print the word document onto it (as if it were letterhead) you can create a customized flyer.

ladybug border

The latest news on the Ladybug Picture Book Award is on the Center for the Book Blog

Find us on Facebook badge

ladybug border

The Ladybug Picture Book Award is designed to promote early literacy and honor the best in recent children's picture books. A committee of children's librarians from around the state selects 10 picture book titles each spring. Then, during November, New Hampshire children from preschoolers to those in third grade choose the award winner. The winning picture book is announced at the end of the year.

To be considered for nomination, a picture book must meet the following criteria:

  • be published, in its current edition, within the last three years
  • be in print
  • have an author and illustrator both residing in the United States
  • possess strong child appeal
  • have artistic quality with text that supports the illustrations
  • not be a title previously nominated

ladybug border

Previous winners

2017 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to Woodpecker Wants a Waffle by Steve Breen

2016 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to It’s Only Stanley by Jon Agee.

2015 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to The Day the Crayons Quit written by Drew Daywalt and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers.

2014 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to If I Built a House by Chris Van Dusen.

2013 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to Little Dog Lost: The True Story of a Brave Dog Named Baltic by Mônica Carnesi.

2012 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes written by Eric Litwin with art by James Dean.

2011 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to Memoirs of a Goldfish written by Devin Scillian and illustrated by Tim Bowers.

2010 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to Princess Hyacinth (the Surprising Story of a Girl Who Floated) by Florence Parry Heide and illustrated by Lane Smith.

2009 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to Waking Beauty by Leah Wilcox and illustrated by Lydia Monks.

2008 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to When Dinosaurs Came with Everything written by Elise Broach and illustrated by David Small

2007 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to The Secret Science Project that Almost Ate the School by Judy Sierra and illustrated by Stephen Gammell

2006 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to I Ain't Gonna Paint No More! by Karen Beaumont & David Catrow

2005 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to Judy Schachner's Skippyjon Jones. Read the beautiful thank you note we got from them.

2004 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to Keiko Kasza's My Lucky Day.

2003 Ladybug Picture Book Award went to Kate & Jim McMullen's I Stink!

ladybug border

For more information, please contact Mary Russell.

adobe acrobat reader symbol This symbol indicates the document is in Portable Document Format (PDF). To view PDF files, you will need the Adobe Acrobat Reader which is available for free from Adobe.

nh seal NH.gov | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy