Center for the Book Logo Center for the Book at the New Hampshire State Library
About the Center
  Advisory Board
  Announcements & Media Advisories
  Directions & Parking
Join the Center
NH's Literary Community
NH's Literary Tradition
Programs & Activities
News & Events
About the Center  

Press Release
NHSL logo

The Center for the Book at New Hampshire State Library

For Immediate Release

Contact: Mary Russell, Center for the Book at the N.H. State Library

April 14, 2015

‘Letters About Literature’ NH semi-finalists selected

The Center for the Book at the New Hampshire State Library has announced semi-finalists for the 2015 Letters about Literature competition.

This year, sixty-eight semi-finalist letters were selected out of 776 received from New Hampshire students. Winning letters from three categories – upper elementary, middle school and high school students – will be selected and announced at the end of April. The Center for the Book at the New Hampshire State Library will award $100 to the first place winner in each category. State winners will advance to the national competition.

Letters About Literature is a reading and writing promotion program of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress and is coordinated in New Hampshire by the Center for the Book at the New Hampshire State Library. To enter, young readers wrote a personal letter to an author explaining how his or her work changed their view of the world or themselves. Readers selected authors from any genre: fiction or nonfiction, contemporary or classic. The contest theme encouraged young readers to reflect on their personal response to a specific book and to write a persuasive letter explaining how the book connected to their own experience.

The 2015 Letters About Literature New Hampshire semi-finalists are:

  • Abigail Magnuszewski, Brookline
  • Abigail Davis, Brookline
  • Adam Razzaboni, Brookline
  • Alyssa Rogers, Somersworth
  • Andrew Caulfield, Gilford
  • Anna Sourdif, Lee
  • Anna Wolke, Plainfield
  • Caitlin MacVarish, Hollis
  • Christopher Hopp, North Haverhill
  • Christina Rogers, Moultonborough
  • Dana Ulrich, Hollis
  • Darby Simmons, Atkinson
  • Delia Carstens, Whitefield
  • Eliza Rae Thayer, Haverhill
  • Emily A. Simons, Dover
  • Emmy Goyette, Durham
  • Hannah Falcone, Plainfield
  • Helene Kenney, Exeter
  • Isaah Gray, Somersworth
  • Isabel Povey, Hampstead
  • Jack Cameron, Hampstead
  • Jahnavi Palarapu, Nashua
  • Jarod Denis, Pembroke
  • Joonho Jo, Exeter
  • Jordan Lavery, East Hampstead
  • Joseph Solari, Milford
  • Kaitlyn Ferdinand, Brookline
  • Katherine Lavoie, East Hampstead
  • Kaycee Travis, Plainfield
  • Kayla Sickler, Milford
  • Keelin Cripps, Pembroke
  • Kerstin Nielsen, Lee
  • Laura Gamelin, Pembroke
  • Lily Nowe, Pembroke
  • Lily Roberge, Milford
  • Lucy Barlow, Hampstead
  • Luke Anderson, Rollinsford
  • Madison Opalinski, Franconia
  • Marian Zens, Lyme
  • Meagan Stagner, Pembroke
  • Meghan Dirksmeier, Madbury
  • Meghan Flynn, Dover
  • Meghan Wood, Milford
  • Molly Hyde, Durham
  • Molly Nero, Milford
  • Montgomery LeBlanc, East Hampstead
  • Natalie VanderNoot, Lebanon
  • Reagan Berry, Hollis
  • Riley McGrath, Atkinson
  • Rohit Kantipudi, Madbury
  • Ryan McMahon, East Hampstead
  • Samuel Koch, Hollis
  • Sasha Beran-Hughes, Milford
  • Shira Hoffer, Hanover
  • Shriya Mareedu, Nashua
  • Sydney Buffett, Bedford
  • Sydney Malachi, Suncook
  • Sydney Speir, Brookline
  • Tylor Pappalardo, East Hampstead
  • William Shea, Hampstead
  • Zachary Cassidy, Greenville
  • Zachary Girouard, Milford

In addition to the students listed, there were five additional students honored as semi-finalists who have not yet given permission to announce their names.


nh seal NH.gov | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy