New Hampshire Division of Historical Resources
Search This Site
 About Us
 Project Review & Compliance
(Section 106)
 Consultant Lists
 News & Events
 Contact Us
 Site Map

twitter account NHDHR_SHPO

twitter account my_newhampshire

Your tube account NH Division of Historical Resources

Publications / Likenesses of New Hampshire War Heroes & Personages in the Collections of the New Hampshire State House & State Library

During the American Revolution (1775-1783) most of New Hampshire’s military leaders came from the inland frontier. The coastal towns depended on trade with England and on coastal trade with other parts of British North America. British authority was strongest in these coastal centers. But inland, away from rivers that gave access to oceangoing trade, it was a different story. Inland was the frontier, and wars with the French and their Native American allies had been going intermittently for more than a century. Most of New Hampshire’s Revolutionary War leaders were frontiersmen. General Stark was born at Nutfield (today’s Londonderry), New Hampshire. General Joseph Cilley was born at Nottingham. General Enoch Poor, born at Andover, Massachusetts, came north in 1755 to fight the French in Nova Scotia. Enoch Poor was later a member of the New Hampshire Provincial Congress (twice), and then a Revolutionary War leader. General Alexander Scammell, born at Mendon, Massachusetts in 1747, came north to Portsmouth and became involved with the 1774 capture of Fort William and Mary in Portsmouth harbor, and then in other Revolutionary War actions. Josiah Bartlett, born at Amesbury, Massachusetts, came north to Kingston, New Hampshire, near the coast, as an adult; and William Whipple was from Kittery, Maine, and had been in the coastal trade before the Revolution. But the great majority of New Hampshire’s military leaders during the Revolution were frontiersmen.

The State of New Hampshire’s collection of Revolutionary War leaders was created in the 1870s, as part of a process of collecting likenesses of past leaders of the state. Portraits were painted from originals by Ulysses D. and Adna Tenney.

All the war heroes except Governor Benjamin Pierce (American Rev. War hero), General John Sullivan (Am. Rev. war hero) and Franklin Pierce (Mexican War hero) are on the State House First Floor: American Revolution, north wall, State House First Floor; War of 1812, north wall, State House First Floor; Civil War, south wall, State House First Floor.

Franklin Pierce has his portrait in Representatives' Hall (Second Floor State House).

Benjamin Pierce was a governor and has his portrait with governors (State House Second Floor); John Sullivan was a governor and has his portrait in the Executive Council Chamber (State House second Floor).

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M |
| N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

Lt. Col. Tileston Barker (1807 - 1879)
General Richard N. Batchelder (1832 - 1901)
Rear Admiral George E. Belknap (1832 - 1903)
Col. Phineas P. Bixby (1829 - 1877)
Benjamin F. Butler (1818 - 1893)
Captain Francis (Frank) W. Butler (1841 - 1864)
Lt. Col. Solon A. Carter (1837 - 1918)
Zachariah Chandler (1813 - 1879)
Joseph Cilley (1734-1799)
Col. Joseph Cilley (1791 - 1887)
Col. Edward E. Cross (1832 - 1863)
Harriet Patience Dame (1815 - 1900)
Charles A. Dana (1819 - 1897)
Henry Dearborn (1751- 1829)
General John Adams Dix (1798 - 1879)
Charles A. Doyen
Lt. Jonathan Eastman, Jr. (1781 - 1867)
Reverend Israel Evans (1747-1807)
Evarts W. Farr (1840 - 1880)
George Gilman Fogg (1813 - 1881)
General John G. Foster (1823 - 1874)
Jesse Augustus Gove (1824 - 1862)
Abraham Lincoln (1809 - 1865)
General Gilman Marston (1811 - 1890)
Brigadier General John McNeil (1784 - 1850)
Brigadier General James Miller (1776-1850)
Captain George Hamilton Perkins (1835 - 1899)
Franklin Pierce (1736-1780)
Colonel Enoch Poor (1804 - 1869)
James Reed (1724-1807)
George Reid (1733-1815)
Alexander Scammell (1747-1781)
John Stark (1728-1822)
General Aaron Fletcher Stevens (1819 - 1887)
Major Edward Everett Sturtevant (1816 - 1862)
Brigadier General John Sullivan (1740-1795)
Brigadier General John L. Thompson (1835 - 1888)
Executive Officer James K. Thornton (1817 - 1875)
Colonel Francis L. Town (1836 - 1922)
George Washington (1732-1799)
William Whipple (1730-1785)
  New Hamphshire Historical Resources logo
19 Pillsbury Street      Concord NH 03301-3570     preservation@dncr.nh.gov
NH State Seal nh.gov | privacy policy | accessibility policy
Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007