New Hampshire Division of Historical Resources
Search This Site
 About Us
 Project Review & Compliance
(Section 106)
 Consultant Lists
 News & Events
 Contact Us
 Site Map

twitter account NHDHR_SHPO

twitter account my_newhampshire

Your tube account NH Division of Historical Resources

About Us > Certified Local Governments
This is a partnership between municipal governments and the state historic preservation program, to encourage and expand local involvement in preservation-related activities. To become certified local government, a town or city must create a local historic district commission or heritage commission, conduct a local historical resources survey, enforce state and local historic preservation legislation (which includes establishing a local historic district and adequate regulations for enforcing the district ordinance), and provide for public participation in the local historic preservation program. CLGs are responsible for reviewing National Register nominations for all properties within their communities, and are eligible for federal matching grants from a special "pass-through" fund set aside for the exclusive use of CLGs. Currently, there are twelve CLGs in New Hampshire: Concord, Derry, Durham, Gilford, Goffstown, Hollis, Jaffrey, Nashua, Newington, Newport, Sanbornton, and Somersworth; applications from several other communities are pending.
  New Hamphshire Historical Resources logo
19 Pillsbury Street      Concord NH 03301-3570     preservation@dncr.nh.gov
NH State Seal nh.gov | privacy policy | accessibility policy
Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007