Official New Hampshire website
Department of Cultural Resources

The Department of Cultural Resources (DCR) became the Department of Natural & Cultural Resources (DNCR) on July 1, 2017 when its divisions, the State Library, State Arts Council and Division of Historical Resources, merged with the Division of Parks & Recreation and the Division of Forests & Lands, formerly of the now-dissolved Department of Resources & Economic Development. The Film Office joined the Department of Business and Economic Affairs on July 1, 2018.

This website serves as an archive of press releases and other information created by the DCR prior to the formation of the DNCR and continues to serve as an important information resource.

For up-to-date information from the DNCR, visit

NH Cultural Resources logo NH State Council on the Arts  


Shelly Angers, N.H. Department of Cultural Resources
(603) 271-3136
Twitter: @NHCulture

NH State Council on the Arts announces 2016 Arts in Education grant awards

The New Hampshire State Council on the Arts has announced that seven schools and five service organizations have been awarded grants through its Artist Residencies in Schools and Youth Arts Project Grant programs.

The NHSCA’s Artist Residencies in Schools grants fund artist residencies that bring juried teaching artists into classrooms and public schools, supporting creative learning and skills development in the arts.

Programs receiving 2016 New Hampshire Artist in Residency grants are:

  • Antrim Elementary School: artist residency with Mark Ragonese to create an animal habitat mural
  • Horne Street School Parents Group, Dover: artist residency with Jeff Erwin to address bullying through improvisational music and theater
  • Maple Street with Harold Martin Elementary Schools, Hopkinton: artist residency with Liz Van Saun to create a mosaic mural
  • Conval Regional High School, Peterborough: artist residencies with multiple artists
  • Sanbornton Central School: artist residency with Marty Kelley using illustration and writing
  • Somersworth Middle School; artist residency with Nancy Grace Horton focusing on integrated science, nutrition and photography
  • Warren Village School: artist residency with Tim Gaudreau to study the local environment through film and video production.

Youth Arts Project Grants fund high-quality arts and cultural programs that encourage creativity, develop new arts skills and foster success for young people beyond the normal school day, in or outside of the school.

Programs receiving 2016 New Hampshire Youth Arts Projects grants are:

  • Arts in Reach, Portsmouth: Encouraging Growth through Arts for Teen Girls
  • The Orchard School, Alstead: summer arts learning experience with comics artist Marek Bennett
  • United Way of Greater Nashua: after-school strings program in Nashua Schools
  • Hampton Academy Jr. High School: summer arts enrichment program for middle school youth
  • Girls Incorporated, Concord: mosaic project with artist Liz Van Saun.

Grant applications are currently being accepted for both grant programs, to fund projects taking place during the 2016-2017 school year. April 8 is the deadline to apply for Artist Residency in School grants; April 15 is the deadline to apply for Youth Arts Project grants. The NHSCA uses an online grant application. Paper applications will not be accepted.

For more information about the New Hampshire State Council on the Arts’ Arts in Education grants and related programs and services, contact Catherine O’Brian, Arts in Health Programs coordinator, 603-271-0795, or visit

The Division of the Arts is a publicly funded agency within the New Hampshire Department of Cultural Resources. It began in 1965 with legislation designed “to insure that the role of the arts in the life of our communities will continue to grow and play an ever more significant part in the education and welfare of our citizens.” Funding comes from state appropriations, the National Endowment for the Arts and the Conservation License Plate fund. Learn more at




State of New Hampshire Seal Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2008