Official New Hampshire website
Department of Cultural Resources
NH Cultural Resources logoNH Council for the Arts logo  


Shelly Angers, N.H. Department of Cultural Resources
(603) 271-3136
Twitter: @NHCulture

Kyle Potvin
Poetry Society of New Hampshire
(917) 838-4500

Nominations Must Be Received by September 13

CONCORD, NH, August 21, 2013 – Nominations are now being accepted for the next New Hampshire poet laureate, who will serve a five-year term beginning in January 2014. Poet and poetry advocate Walter Butts, the state’s most recent poet laureate, passed away earlier this year.

The selection process for the position is coordinated by the Poetry Society of New Hampshire, the N.H. State Council on the Arts and the New Hampshire Writers’ Project. An official announcement naming the next poet laureate is expected to take place on November 6, 2013, as part of the 2013 Governors Arts Awards in Manchester, N.H.

Established by the state legislature in 1967, New Hampshire’s poet laureate is an honorary five-year position held by an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the field of poetry. The state’s poet laureate serves as an ambassador for all poets in New Hampshire and works to heighten the visibility and value of poetry in our state.

In order to be considered, a nominee must be a New Hampshire resident and must have published at least one full-length book of poetry. Eligible poets may nominate themselves or be nominated by a third party. Each application must include a signed statement/vision from the nominee explaining his or her vision for the role of New Hampshire poet laureate if selected.
Applications are available at and must be received by Friday, September 13, 2013.

“New Hampshire offers a thriving poetry community and we welcome the many talented poets here to apply to be part of a rich tradition of New Hampshire poets laureate working hard to celebrate and foster poetry in our state,” said Kyle Potvin, president, Poetry Society of New Hampshire.

The impressive list of former New Hampshire poets laureate includes Walter Butts, Patricia Fargnoli, Marie Harris, Donald Hall, Cynthia Huntington, Jane Kenyon and Maxine Kumin.

For the first time in its history, the New Hampshire Poet Laureate position includes an honorarium of $500 for each year of the five-year term to help the next poet laureate achieve his or her stated mission. Funding comes from generous contributions made to the Walter Butts’ New Hampshire Poet Laureate Fund, created in Butts’ memory andcoordinated through the Poetry Society of New Hampshire. New Hampshire poets laureate also receive lifetime membership in the Poetry Society of New Hampshire.

For more information about the New Hampshire poet laureate, email




State of New Hampshire Seal Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2008