Official New Hampshire website
Department of Cultural Resources
NH Cultural Resources logoNH State Council on the Arts  


Shelly Angers, N.H. Department of Cultural Resources
(603) 271-3136
Twitter: @NHCulture

Governors Arts Awards winners announced

The New Hampshire State Council on the Arts is pleased to announce the seven recipients of the 2011 Governors Arts Awards. Awardees will be honored at a ceremony at the Governor and Executive Council Chambers on April 27, 2011.

The State Arts Council, in cooperation with the Governors Office, periodically has the opportunity to bring attention to the work of those who, by creating and supporting art, make a positive impact on the quality of life in New Hampshire. Nominations are accepted from the public at large.

Those honored include:

Arts in Education Award: Deborah Booth, Epping Middle School. Booth is an art educator who is known for her innovations in integrating the creative arts into the broader curriculum and for fully engaging parents and community members in the value and importance of an education that includes the arts.

Distinguished Arts Leadership Award: Connie Rosemont, Red River Theatres; and Ben Anderson, Prescott Park Arts Festival. Rosemont has provided extraordinary leadership in transforming an idea into a reality with the creation of Concord’s only independent theatre. Anderson’s vision and persistence transformed a Portsmouth institution on the brink of extinction into a sustainable operation that enriches the Seacoast area economy.

Folk Heritage Award: Sylvia Miskoe, traditional musician and dancer. Miskoe’s contributions to our state’s musical lore, particularly Scottish, French-Canadian and New England Contra-dancing, are legendary in New Hampshire and beyond. 

Individual Arts Patron Award: Christine Dwyer, co-owner of RMC Research and member of the President’s Commission on Arts and Culture. Dwyer has served as a Portsmouth City Councilor, founding board member of the Portsmouth Music Hall, chair of the N.H. State Council on the Arts, trustee of the Currier Museum of Art, and board member of both the New Hampshire Business Committee for the Arts and of the New Hampshire Center for Nonprofits.

Lotte Jacobi Living Treasure Award: Jon Brooks, sculptor and furniture maker. A pre-eminent leader in New Hampshire’s studio furniture movement, Brooks’ work is collected nationally and is represented in many museum collections. He is also generous teacher and mentor to aspiring artists.

Voice of New Hampshire Special Award: Fritz Wetherbee, Acworth. Wetherbee is a New Hampshire native whose voice and uniquely New Hampshire outlook have become synonymous with the Granite State.

The New Hampshire State Council on the Arts is a publicly funded agency within the New Hampshire Department of Cultural Resources. It began in 1965 with legislation designed “to insure that the role of the arts in the life of our communities will continue to grow and play an ever more significant part in the education and welfare of our citizens.” Funding comes from state appropriations, the National Endowment for the Arts and the Conservation License Plate fund. Learn more about the New Hampshire State Council on the Arts at




State of New Hampshire Seal Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2008