Official New Hampshire website
Department of Cultural Resources
NH Cultural Resources logoNH State Council on the Arts  


Shelly Angers, N.H. Department of Cultural Resources
(603) 271-3136

Brooks named N.H. Arts Council Chair

Dr. Roger C. Brooks has been named by Governor John Lynch to serve as Chair of the 15-member Council that advises the New Hampshire State Council on the Arts, a division of the New Hampshire Department of Cultural Resources.

Brooks has extensive background as an educator, administrator, and arts advocate. At Concord’s Beaver Meadow School, where he served as principal until his retirement in 2009, he supported many artist-in-residency programs and the integration of arts and music into the elementary school curriculum. He also supported after-school programs in dance, theatre, music, and the visual arts.

For his work in arts education, Brooks was presented the Arts in Education Award at the 2005 Governors Arts Awards.

Brooks is a former board member of the Capitol Center for the Arts, currently serves on their nominating committee, and is Chair of their Education Committee. In addition, he serves as an adjudicator for the New Hampshire Theatre Awards.

The New Hampshire State Council on the Arts is a division of the Department of Cultural Resources. The State Arts Council provides a wide variety of services, competitive grants, and technical assistance to not-for-profit organizations, schools, health care facilities, and individual artists, helping to ensure that the arts thrive in New Hampshire and are accessible to all. Funding for grants and services is provided by the New Hampshire Legislature and the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency. Learn more at




State of New Hampshire Seal Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2008