Official New Hampshire website
NHSCA logo 50th anniversary tagline


 nh arts home
 program services
trans div
 arts & artists
   artist rosters
   poet laureate
   artist laureate
trans div
nh folklife
 news & calendar
 about us
 site map



Arts & Artists  

2019 Governor's Arts Awards GAA logo

On October 21, 2019, the Governor's Arts Awards recipients will be recognized by Governor Chris Sununu during a ceremony and reception at the Capitol Center for the Arts’ Bank of New Hampshire Stage in Concord, hosted by the New Hampshire State Council on the Arts.

Nominees include individual artists, arts organizations and communities who contribute to New Hampshire’s creative economy in exemplary ways. Each recpient will recieve an award designed and created by Berlin sculptor Andre Belanger, which are based on the State House dome eagle – the first public art in the state.

The 2019 Governor’s Arts Awards recipients are:

Arts Education
Award Recipient: Theo Martey, Manchester

Award sponsor: New England College

Arts in Health
Award Recipient:
Crotched Mountain School, Greenfield

Award sponsor: Dartmouth-Hitchcock Health

Creative Communities
Award Recipient:
Town of Mason

Award sponsor: Northeast Delta Dental

Distinguished Arts Leadership
Award Recipient: Bente Torjusen, Lebanon

Award sponsor: Christine Dwyer

Folk Heritage
Award Recipient:
Jane McBride Orzechowski, Newport

Award sponsor: Sanborn Mills Farm

Individual Arts Champion
Award Recipients (two awards): Stephen Duprey, Concord and Robert O. Wilson, Concord

Award sponsor: Shannon Chandley and Tom Silvia

Lotte Jacobi Living Treasure
Award Recipient: Sylvia Nicolas, Mont Vernon

Award sponsor: Eversource

Funds for the 2019 Governor's Arts Awards were generously donated by private contributors, including the Award Sponsors noted above and the following:

Event Sponsors:      
Blue Orchid Interiors Roger & Carol Brooks Capitol Center for the Arts Hotel Concord
Kelley Family Properties O Steaks and Seafood WMUR  



Last updated: October 1, 2019

nh | privacy policy | accessibility policy