Official New Hampshire website
NHSCA logo 50th anniversary tagline


 nh arts home
 program services
trans div
 arts & artists
   artist rosters
   poet laureate
   artist laureate
trans div
nh folklife
 news & calendar
 about us
 site map



Arts & Artists  

gaaward2005 Governor’s Arts Awards
Governor and Dr. Susan Lynch Honor Governor’s Arts Award Recipients

On October 25, 2005 at a special event hosted by the State Arts Council, Governor John Lynch and Dr. Susan Lynch, Honorary Chair of the 2005 Governor’s Arts Awards, announced the names of seven award recipients and the artists who were selected to designed their awards. The New Hampshire State Council on the Arts received 21 nominations for the 2005 Governors Arts Awards. The Governor’s Arts Awards are presented every two years and recognize outstanding accomplishments in arts education, arts patronage, arts support by a town or city, cultural access leadership, distinguished arts leadership, folk heritage, and an individual artist’s lifetime of work. The Governor presented each recipient with a unique award, designed by a New Hampshire artist, at the State Arts Council’s 40th Anniversary Gala on April 13, 2006 at the Capitol Center for the Arts.

The 2005 Governor’s Arts Awards recipients and award artists are:

jon brooks and gerry williams

Lotte Jacobi Living Treasure
Gerry Williams, studio potter, Dunbarton
Artist Creating Award: Jon Brooks, New Boston

Wood sculptor and furniture maker Jon Brooks (left) created a Governor’s Arts Award for studio potter Gerry Williams who has been named Lotte Jacobi Living Treasure. Brooks has known Williams since childhood since Williams was a close friend to his parents and a frequent visitor to their home.

mrs smead and lisa carpenterFolk Heritage
(posthumously awarded)
Claude Smead, basket maker, West Swanzey
Artist Creating Award: Lisa Carpenter, Barrington

Mrs. Smead, (left) the widow of basket maker Claude Smead, poses with Traditional Folk Painter Lisa Carpenter, who created the Folk Heritage Award for him. Claude Smead passed away at age 88 shortly before the announcement of his award. Mrs. Smead accepted the award for her husband.

portsmouthCommunity Spirit
City of Portsmouth
Artist Creating Award: Andre Belanger, Berlin

Andre Belanger created the Community Spirit Award presented to the City of Portsmouth during the gala event on April 13, 2006 at the Capitol Center for the Arts.

betsey giberson and roger brooksArts Education
Roger Brooks, Principal, Beaver Meadow School, Concord
Artist Creating Award: Betsy Giberson, Warner

Beaver Meadow School principal Dr. Roger Brooks poses with Betsy
Giberson, the artist who created the Governor’s Arts Award for Arts Education. Dr. Brooks is a leader in Arts Education programming for the Concord School District and Giberson works in a wide range of media and techniques.

peggy senter dr lynch and marcey schepkerCultural Access Leadership
Concord Community Music School, Concord
Artist Creating Award: Marcy Schepker, Harrisville

Concord Community Music School has been named to receive the Governor’s Arts Award for Cultural Access Leadership. President Peggy Senter (left) poses with Dr. Susan Lynch and tapestry weaver and soft toy maker Marcy Schepker who created the Music School’s award.

mt mennino and teresa taylorDistinguished Arts Leadership

M.T. Mennino, Executive Director, Capitol Center for the Arts, Concord
Artist Creating Award: Teresa Taylor, Barnstead

M.T. Mennino (left) was radiant upon meeting Barnstead potter Teresa Taylor. Mennino was named recipient of the Distinguished Arts Leadership Award, a testament to the tremendous impact she has had on New Hampshire arts during her relatively short residence in the state. She passed away shortly after this photo was taken. In April the award created by Taylor was accepted by her son Jason Mennino at the Capitol Center for the Arts.

joan farrell and beth krommesIndividual Arts Patron
Joan Farrel, Concord
Artist Creating Award: Beth Krommes, Peterborough

Named Individual Arts Patron by Governor Lynch, Joan Farrel (left) received an award created for her by illustrator Beth Krommes.

state house domeAbout the Award Design Theme

The artists who have been commissioned to create the awards are all juried members of various State Arts Council programs. All seven awards interpret the eagle designed for the dome of the State House, which was installed in 1819.

Since the 1950s, the wooden original has been safely preserved by the New Hampshire Historical Society in the Tuck Library. Its gold-leafed replica currently stands atop the State House dome.




nh | privacy policy | accessibility policy