

Mark C. Armaganian Chief mark.armaganian@liquor.nh.gov Phone: (603) 271-3523 Fax: (603) 271-3758

State of New Hampshire LIQUOR COMMISSION

Division of Enforcement & Licensing

50 Storrs Street Concord, NH 03301-1795 Phone: (603) 271-3521 Fax: (603) 271-3758 Joseph W. Mollica Chairman

Nicole Brassard Jordan Deputy Commissioner

TRANSPORTING ALCOHOL FOR PERSONAL USE

When transporting liquor into this state for your personal use, the following information should be helpful. Liquor is any distilled or rectified spirit, alcohol, wine, fermented and malt liquors and cider over 6% alcoholic content by volume.

A person may legally transport into this state for their own personal use quantities of liquor not to exceed three (3) quarts. There is no limit on beverage (at least 1/2% but not over 6% alcoholic content by volume), provided it is for consumption only and not for resale.

For any amount of liquor exceeding three (3) quarts, but not more than three (3) gallons for an individuals own personal use the Commission may grant a license to allow importation into the state at no charge.

If the quantity of liquor exceeds three gallons, then the Liquor Commission by law charges a 25% fee on the entire value of the liquor.

The following is a list of information you must submit before a transport license may be issued:

- 1. Letter stating liquor is for your personal use.
- 2. Inventory of liquor to be transported listing number of bottles, size and value of each item. (Supply invoice if available.) *Use form L-077 Disclosure of Alcohol for Import into New Hampshire.*
- 3. Destination of the shipment, approximate delivery time, vessel name and place of arrival, as applicable.
- 4. Copy of your photo driver's license, state identification card or other valid ID to prove that the owner of the shipment is 21 years of age or over.
- 5. For shipments over 3 gallons, include the fee. (25% on entire value of wine) To figure the correct fee, please use the following formula: Value x 25%=Fee.

TITLE XIII ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES CHAPTER 175 DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL PROVISIONS Section 175:6 Transportation of Alcohol (in-part)

I. No person shall transport liquor in this state in a greater quantity than 3 quarts, unless said liquor was purchased from a state store, from a direct shipper, from a holder of a combination or retail wine license in accordance with RSA 178:18, and RSA 178:19 or from a winery holding a limited winery special sales license in accordance with RSA 178:8. Provided, however, that the commission in its discretion may grant to an individual, upon application, a license to transport for a specific journey liquor not purchased at a state store for the person's own personal use, in a quantity not to exceed 3 gallons. Quantities exceeding 3 gallons may be transferred with a license issued by the commission providing a fee of 25 percent of the entire value of the product is paid to the commission. It shall be lawful for common carriers to transport liquor to state stores, to state warehouses, to licensees under this title, to purchasers of liquor at state stores, and from manufacturers to state warehouses, state stores, and to the state line for transportation outside the state; for licensees under this title to transport liquor from state stores to their place of business; and for manufacturers to transport within the state to state warehouses and state stores and to the state line for transportation outside the state. **Source.** 1990, 255:1. 1992, 147:1. 1996, 275:10. 1998, 331:3, eff. July 1, 1998. 2003, 231:10, eff. July 1, 2003.

Form updated 01/15/2021