Employees need to know

By Charlie DoTar

- It is against the law to sell tobacco products, nicotine/e-Liquids, and e-Liquid vaporizer devices over-the-counter or from vending machines to individuals under the age of 21. There are **no exceptions** to these laws.
- Tobacco products include: cigarettes, cigars, pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco, smokeless tobacco, E-cigarettes, and e-Liquid vaporizer devices.
- Underage individuals may not be sold tobacco products, nicotine/e-Liquids, and e-Liquid vaporizer devices, even if the adult has given written or oral permission. Since the sale of tobacco products in stores is monitored by store employees, each staff member must make sure that tobacco products are not sold to minors.
- New Hampshire laws concerning tobacco, nicotine/e-Liquids, and e-Liquid vaporizer devices sales to underage youth are enforced through unannounced compliance check inspections made by the state.

A notice of fines and citations will be issued to a merchant if an illegal sale of tobacco products, nicotine/e-Liquids, and e-Liquid vaporizer devices is made to a minor over-the counter or from a vending machine not located in an adult-only facility where no one younger than 18 is permitted to enter.

Penalties for selling or distributing tobacco products, nicotine/e-Liquids, and e-Liquid vaporizer devices to minors:

Seller: a violation for the first offense, misdemeanor for each subsequent offense. Fines could reach up to \$1200.

Business: First offense is \$250 with a minimum of \$500.00 for a second offense. Continued violations could reach fines of up to \$3000 and suspension or revocation of the tobacco license.

There are additional penalties under federal laws that may apply.

When an individual attempts to purchase tobacco products, nicotine/e-Liquids, and e-Liquid vaporizer devices and you believe that they are underage, politely but assertively do the following:

- 1) Check IDs.
- 2) Ask the individual who looks underage to show you ID. Say, "I'm sorry, but I cannot sell you tobacco without ID to verify your age. It is store policy and New Hampshire law to ask for ID."

The Four Acceptable Forms of ID

- 1) A motor vehicle driver's license issued by the state of New Hampshire; a valid driver's license issued by another state, the District of Columbia, a United States Territory; or a province of Canada, which bears the date of birth, home address, expiration, and picture of the licensee.
- 2) An armed services identification card.
- 3) An identification card Issued by the director of motor vehicles or any photo identification card issued by another state, the District of Columbia, or a United States territory, which bears the date of birth, name, expiration, and address of the Individual.
- 4) A valid passport from a country with whom the U.S. maintains diplomatic relations.