Employees need to know

Bv Charlie DeTar

Everything you need to know about selling alcohol in NH:

- It is against the law to sell alcohol products to individuals under the age of 21. There are no exceptions to these laws.
- Alcohol products should not be sold to individuals under the age of 21, even if an adult 21 years of age or older has given written or oral permission. Any person making the sale of alcohol to any person whose age is in question shall require the purchaser to furnish valid documentation that such person is 21 years of age or over. Since store employees monitor the sale of alcohol products, it is the responsibility of all employees to verify the age of individuals who are buying alcohol and ensuring that alcohol products are not sold to minors.
- New Hampshire laws concerning alcohol sales to underage youth are enforced through unannounced compliance checks made by the NH Division of Enforcement.

A notice of fines and citations will be issued to a merchant if an illegal sale of alcohol products is made to a minor.

Legal consequences for selling or distributing alcohol products to minors by employee or seller: It shall be a violation to sell any liquor or beverage to a minor during enforcement activity initiated solely for the purpose of verifying noncompliance with RSA 179:5. All other instances shall be charged as a Class B Misdemeanor.

Penalties: Violation: Fines up to \$1,000 Class B Misdemeanor: Fines up to \$1,200

Additional penalties under federal laws may apply

When an individual attempts to purchase alcohol products and you believe that they are underage, politely but assertively do the following:

- 1) Check IDs.
- 2) Ask the individual who looks underage to show you ID. Say, "I'm sorry, but I cannot sell you alcohol without ID to verify your age. It is store policy and New Hampshire law to ask for ID."

The Four Acceptable Forms of ID are:

- 1) A motor vehicle driver's license issued by the state of New Hampshire; a valid driver's license issued by another state, the District of Columbia, a United States Territory; or a province of Canada, which bears the date of birth, home address, expiration, and picture of the licensee.
- 2) An armed services identification card.
- 3) An identification card Issued by the director of motor vehicles or any photo identification card issued by another state, the District of Columbia, or a United States territory, which bears the date of birth, name, expiration, and address of the Individual.
- 4) A valid passport from a country with whom the U.S. maintains diplomatic relations.