

Division of Enforcement, Licensing and Education

# **Industry Circular**

Number 2020-17

Issued: October 29, 2020

\_\_\_\_\_

**Relative and Applicable Statutes and Rules:** 

RSA 179:8

# Acceptance of Expired ID's for the Purchase of Age-Restricted Products

### 1. Discussion

The Division of Enforcement & Licensing is disseminating this industry circular to provide licensees with guidance on accepting expired driver's licenses to purchase age restricted products during the Covid-19 pandemic.

When referring to the acceptable forms of identification for the purchase of age restricted products, New Hampshire RSA: 179:8 states:

"Photographic identification presented under this section shall be consistent with the appearance of the person, and **shall not be expired** and shall be correct and free of alteration, erasure, blemish, or other impairment."

Many state jurisdictions have extended the terms of their driver's licenses and state issued identification cards as a result of Covid-19 and several states have issued documents with extension authorizations.

We have provided a brief explanation of the New England states and New York state extensions below:



Division of Enforcement, Licensing and Education

# **Industry Circular**

Number 2020-17

Issued: October 29, 2020

### MASSACHUSETTS EXTENSIONS

The extensions below replicate the ongoing measures the RMV has taken to reduce the need for customers to physically visit an RMV Service Center.

Current Expiration Date (on credential)	New Expiration Date
March 2020	September 2020
April 2020	September 2020
May 2020	September 2020
June 2020	October 2020
July 2020	November 2020
August 2020	December 2020

### RHODE ISLAND EXTENSIONS

Expiration dates for registrations, **driver licenses**, **learner permits**, **ID's**, CLPs, CDLs, inspection stickers, disability placards, and school bus certificates have been extended.

Expiration dates for registrations, driver licenses, learner permits, ID's, CLPs, CDLs, inspection stickers, disability placards, and school bus certificates have been extended. Those items set to expire in March have been extended 240 days. Those items set to expire in April or May have been extended by 180 days. Those items set to expire in June have been extended for 150 days. Those items set to expire in July and August have been extended for 90 days. Those items set to expired in September have been extended for 60 days.



Division of Enforcement, Licensing and Education

# **Industry Circular**

Number 2020-17

Issued: October 29, 2020

\_\_\_\_\_

#### CONNECTICUT EXTENSIONS

The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, with the approval of Governor Ned Lamont, has extended deadlines for Connecticut residents with expiring credentials.

DMV credentials that expire between March 10, 2020 and May 31, 2020 extended to 11/30/2020.

DMV credentials that expire between June 1, 2020 and November 30, 2020 extended to 12/31/2020.

#### MAINE EXTENSION

Maine driver's licenses and State IDs that expired during the emergency period (since March 15, 2020 and later) are extended until 30 days after the end of the civil emergency. Gov. Mills extended the state of emergency on October 29 2020 for an additional 30 days.

Thus, the deadline to renew expired licenses and IDs is November 28, 2020.

#### **VERMONT**

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) announced the launch of a new online system for license renewals for the DMV to transition to online, mail and phone transactions to reduce the spread of COVID-19.

#### **NEW HAMPSHIRE**

For licenses that are expired or are expiring by September 30, 2020, in-person driver license renewal appointments are available. Customers are encouraged to renew online if eligible.

### **NEW YORK**

All driver licenses and permits that expired March 1, 2020, or after continue to be extended by Executive Order at least through November 3, 2020. In addition, the federal REAL ID enforcement deadline has been extended until October 1, 2021.



Division of Enforcement, Licensing and Education

**Industry Circular** 

Number 2020-17

Issued: October 29, 2020

### 2. Conclusion

When authorized extensions have been granted by the issuing state, the identification documents are not expired and are to be considered valid. Therefore, the documents can be accepted as a valid form of identification for the purposes of compliance with RSA 179:8 so long as they comply with the restrictions of the extensions. As always, licensees have a right to refuse service of age restricted products to any consumer when their age is in question. We continue to encourage licensees to utilize due diligence on identifying youthful appearance and questionable age of customers.

# 3. Questions

Please contact the New Hampshire Liquor Commission – Division of Enforcement & Licensing at 603-271-8531 for questions on states that are not listed above.