# Please call for additional youth labor laws not mentioned herein

The Department of Labor offers employers free Labor seminars every spring and by invitation throughout the State. In addition, Inspectors are always available to answer any questions you have without judgment and are happy to provide you with any forms you need to achieve the hiring process of youths.

We strongly recommend signing up to receive our email alerts to keep you informed of any changes to NH Labor Laws.

Email Alert signup at: www.nh.gov/labor



NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 95 Pleasant Street Concord, NH 03281

Phone: (603) 271-3176 Email: InspectionDiv@dol.nh.gov

### New Hampshire Department of Labor

Dated 1909.

Location: Amoskeag Manufacturing Co. mills in

Manchester, NH.

Photo by: Lewis W. Hine.

Courtesy of the Library of Congress.

## New Hampshire Department of Labor

What You Need To Know Before Hiring Minors



A REFERENCE GUIDE FOR NEW HAMPSHIRE EMPLOYERS

# I'm thinking of hiring youth, now what?

Both age groups require different documentation to begin work.

- <u>Under the age of 16</u>- Youth Employment Certificate (must be on file with the employer prior to the third day of work).
- 16 or 17 years old- Parental
  Permission (must be signed and on file with the employer **prior to the first day** of work)

### What type of work are youth allowed to do?

Restrictions are dependent on the age of the youth.

Youth may not work in any hazardous occupation contained in the Child Labor Bulletin 101 under the Fair Labor Standards Act. (some exceptions apply).

Please contact the New Hampshire Department of Labor with any questions.

# I want to hire youth younger than 16 years old, what hours can they work?

Limitations on hours is based on employer's predetermined work week.

#### When School Is In Session....

- Not more than 3 hours on school days
  - School days are Monday through Friday
- Not more than 23 hours per school week
  - A school week is any week in which a youth has school

#### Non-school days...

- Not more than 8 hours per day on non-school days
- Not more than 48 hours during school vacations

#### Year Round...

- Not earlier than 7:00 AM
- Not later than 9:00 PM

# I want to hire Youth ages 16 or 17 years old, what hours can they work?

Limitations on hours is based on employer's predetermined work week.

#### When school is in session 5 days...

Not more than 35 hours per workweek

#### **During School Vacations**

- Not more than 6 consecutive days (some exceptions apply)
- Not more than 48 Hours per workweek (some exceptions apply)

#### Contact Us

New Hampshire Department of Labor 95 Pleasant Street Concord NH 03281

(603) 271-3176 InspectionDiv@dol.nh.gov

Visit us on the Web: https://www.nh.gov/labor/