16 or 17 years olds

Year Round...

® Not more than 10% hours per day
(some exceptions apply)

® Cannot work more than 2 nights
between the hours of 8 PM & 6 AM
and work more than an 8 hour shift on
any day during that same week

Federal Child Labor Laws may
differ from New Hampshire
Ll Youth Labor Laws

PLEASE CALL FOR
ADDITIONAL YOUTH

LABOR LAWS NOT
MENTIONED HEREIN

The Department of Labor offers
employers free Labor seminars
every spring throughout the State
and quarterly at the Department.

In addition, Inspectors are always
available to answer any questions
you have without judgement and

are happy to provide you with any
forms you need to achieve the hiring
process of youths.

We strongly recommend signing up
to receive our email alerts to keep
you informed of any changes to NH
Labor Laws.

E-mail Alert Sign up at:
www.nh.gov/labor

NEW HAMPSHIRE
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

95 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03281

Phone (603) 271-3176
Fax (603) 271-2668
InspectionDiv@dol.nh.gov

About the photograph: Dated 1909.

Location: Amoskeag Manufacturing Co. Mills in
Manchester, NH.

Photo by: Lewis W. Hine.
Courtesy of the Library of Congress.
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What You Need To Know
Before Hiring Minors

A REFERENCE GUIDE FOR
NEW HAMPSHIRE
EMPLOYERS



I’'M THINKING OF HIRING
YOUTH, NOW WHAT?

Both age groups require different
documentation in order to begin work.

Under the age of 16 - Youth
Employment Certificate (must be on

file with the employer prior to the
third day of work)

16 or 17 years old - Parental
Permission (must be signed and on
file with the employer prior to the
first day of work)

WHAT TYPE OF WORK
ARE YOUTH ALLOWED
TO DO?

Depending on the age of the youth there
are different restrictions.

Youth may not work in any Hazardous
Occupations contained in the Child
Labor Bulletin 101 under the Fair Labor
Standards Act.

Please contact the New Hampshire
Department of Labor with any questions.

| want to hire youth
younger than 16 years
old, what hours can
they work?

Hours Limitations based on
employer’s predetermined work week

When school is in session...

® Not more than 3 hours on
school days

» School days are Monday
through Friday

® Not more than 23 hours per
school week

» aschool week is any week in
which a youth has school

Non-school days...

® Not more than 8 hours per day on
non-school days

® Not more than 48 hours during
school vacations

Year Round...

® Not earlier than 7:00 AM
® Not later than 9:00 PM

| want to hire youth ages
16 or 17 years old, what
hours can they work?

Hours Limitations based on
employer’s predetermined work week

When school is in session
3 days or less...

Not more than 6 consecutive days

Not more than 48 hours per workweek

When school is in session
for 4 days...

Not more than 6 consecutive days

Not more than 40% hours per workweek

When school is in session
for 5 days...

Not more than 6 consecutive days

Not more than 30 hours per workweek

During School Vacations &
Summer (June 1 — Labor Day)...

® Not more than 6 consecutive days
(some exceptions apply)

® Not more than 48 hours per workweek
(some exceptions apply)



