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TOP 10 VIOLATIONS 
OF NH LABOR LAWS 

1. Failure to pay all wages 
2. Failure to keep accurate 

records 
3. Two hour minimum pay 

• RSA 275:43-LAB 803.01 
• RSA 279:27  -  LAB 803.03 

4. Youth employment 
5. Failure to secure workers 

compensation/ 
misrepresentation of workers 

• RSA 275:43-a  –  LAB 
803.03 

• RSA 276-A  –  LAB 1000 
• RSA 275:42  I & II and 

RSA 281-A 



TOP 10 VIOLATIONS 
OF NH LABOR LAWS 

6. Employing undocumented 
workers 

7. Withholding of wages 
8. Failure to pay minimum wage 
9. Failure to have a written 

safety plan 
10. Failure to provide written 

notice 

• RSA 275-A:4-a 
• RSA 275:48  –  LAB 803.02 
• RSA 279:21 

• RSA 281-A:64  –  LAB 600 

• RSA 275:49  –  LAB 803.03 



New Hampshire 
Department of Labor 

LIFE CYCLE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE 
EMPLOYEE 



LIFE CYCLE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE 
EMPLOYEE 

I. WORKERS’ COMPENSATION COVERAGE 

II. NOTIFICATION 

III. DOCUMENTATION 

IV. CITIZENS PROTECTION 

V. RECORDING OF HOURS 

VI. SAFETY AND HEALTH PROGRAM 

VII.DEDUCTIONS 

VIII.WEEKLY PAYMENT OF WAGES 

IX. TERMINATING AN EMPLOYEE 



I -WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION 

➢ Failure to secure and maintain NH Workers’ 
Compensation insurance coverage 

➢ Misrepresentation of workers 

➢ Exclusion of executive officers 

➢ Prime Contractor’s responsibility 



I - WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION 

➢ Filing of the first report of injury 

➢ First Aid 

➢ Reinstatement of an employee sustaining a 
compensable injury 

➢ Temporary Alternative Duty 

➢ Job Modification 

➢ Second Injury Fund 



II - NOTIFICATION 
RSA 275:49 

❑ Wage Notification at least 
minimum wage 

❑ Benefits 
❑ Equal Pay RSA 275:37 



III - DOCUMENTATIONS 

YOUTH EMPLOYMENT 
RSA 276-A  

Illegal employment 
of workers under 18 
years old (not 
having proper 
paperwork, hours 
violations, or 
working in a 
hazardous 
environment). 



III -DOCUMENTATION 
YOUTH EMPLOYMENT 

RSA 276-A 
16-17 year old: 
-./ Parental permission 
-./No more than 6 

consecutive days 
-./No more than 30 hrs 

while in school 
-./No more than 48 hrs a 

week during school 
vacations 

-./ Night work 
-./HO’s no mfg. no 

const., no logging, no 
quarrying. 



STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
PARENTAL PERMISSION AS DEFINED IN RSA 216-A:4 ITU AND LAB RCM 

FOR THE EMPLOYMENT OF YOUTH AGE 16 OR 17 

Youth's name: Date of Britb__f 
(please print) (mootkdamear) 

Youth's Address: 
Street City State Zip 

L 

	

	  grant remission fru may son, daughter or legal ward 
(Nana of part or legal guardian) 

To be empleryed with  
(Nanr es:oployea) 

Located at 
Street 

Description of work 

 

City Slate Zip 

 

   

    

Date Signature of paten or legal guardian 
For information regarding the requirement of RSA 276-A, the New Hampshire Youth Employinant Law, please 
LOW= die New Hampshire Department of Labor at 271-6294, or 271-1.4f2 

RSA 276-A4 
L No youth shall be employed or pooniirted to work La. any hazardous or capatiOn, except in Saappraill[ hip. 
madman rehshiliadon im training program apprmred by the minrissionEr. 

VL No youth 16 or 17 years of age Moo is chtty Enrolled in school shall be permitted to work more than 6 
consecutive days or more than 30 hours daring the school calendar week, which shall be Scoiday through 
Satinehr. 

WIND youth 16 or 17 years of age who is duty inroad in school shall work for more than 6 consecutive days 
x46 ham Litany Ea:lamp& daring school raaltalS inrledieP  amour vacation_ For purpose of dispel:re:graph 
'summer vacation" means Sire 1 through Later Day 

VIII No youth 16 or 17 rears of age, except a youth 16 or 17 rears of age who Ins graduated from high 
school or obtained a general KIM-dewy diploma, shall be employed by an employer unless the employer 
obtains and Mailitail5 on file a signed written dornment from the youth's parent ar Legal geardian 
permitting Ibe youth's einplopmeat 

RSA 276-A:13 Night Work -No an& parish shall be employedorpetted Ea work at night wad mime Mao 13 
hours in any 24 hors nor more Mom 41 horns daring the week If any youth:is employed or permitted to work 
more Mon 2 Mg:Ms Each week, for anv time between Om hours of It O'clock pro_ and 6 &cloth am of the day 
fallowtog, such eroploroaM shall be considered raghaircrk. 

Lab 19412113 Rows Lisitalines_ 
Copia-smug to RSA 276-A113, gary youth soled:Med to work more than 2 nights in a week part 8 o'clock pm 
shall not be permitted ea wad aura than an 8 hoar shift dming that partirolar melt 

Hazardous Occupations are as defined:in Federal Child Labor Beattie Requiremmis in Nonagricultural 
Orcepatioas 'ChM Labor Bulletins Na. 1013  Order Nn. I Haunts Order No. 17 

Ibis form most be tile with the employer Frier he 16 er 17 year old youth pert-in:dm any milt_ 



YOUTH EMPLOYMENT 
RSA 276-A 

14 and 15 year olds: 

✓ HO’s no mfg. no const., no logging, no quarrying 

✓ Not earlier than 7 am; no later than 9 pm; no more than 3 hrs 
on school days, 23 hrs on school weeks 

✓ Non school days can work 8 hrs a day 

✓ NH age 12 can work 

✓ Fed’s say 14 yr olds can work. Must follow stricter of the two. 

✓ Can volunteer but need certificate 



AGE DATE OF BIRTH SEX 

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE. 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

PD BOX 2476 
CONCORD, NH 43342-2876 

EMPLOYER'S REQUEST FOR CHILD LABOR 

Please issue a NH Youth Employment Certificate to: 

NAME OF MINOR SOC_ SEC_ NUMBER (optional) 

That h&she may be legally employed, in accordance with Revised Statutes Annotated 276-A as 
amended, by 

(SHOW CORPORATION OR TRADE NAME, EF ANY) (FED. ID f) 

STREET & NUMBER curt, STATE, ZIP TEL. # 

INDUSTRY OF EMPLOYER 

NATURE OF EMPLOYMENT — BE SPECIFIC 

With this application the minor must present a Birth Certificate or other evidence of date of birth, 
to the School Department, and the certificate will be issued there. The certificate must be kept on 
file for your records. 

Employer's Signature-Telephone Number 



I V - CITIZEN PROTECTION 

RSA 275:A-4-a 

Documentation 
to show 

eligibility to 
work 



V -RECORDING HOURS 
RSA 279:27 

■ HOURLY vs 
SALARIED 

■ TWO HOUR 
MINIMUM 
(275:43-a) 



VI- Safety and Health Program 
RSA 281-A:64 

All employers with 15 or more employees shall: 
1. A current written safety program (LAB 602.01) 

– Time to update the program as of 2015 
(add / review workplace violence program) 

2. New businesses with 15 or more employees 
- Safety Summary Form must be submitted 
(LAB 602.02) - A one time submittal 

3. Joint Loss Management Committee 
(JLMC) (LAB 603.02) – A Safety Committee 

4. Responsibility of the JLMC - meet quarterly, and 
record minutes (LAB 603.03) 

5. Responsibility of the employer (LAB 603.04) 



VII - DEDUCTIONS 
RSA 275:48 

All allowed deductions are 
in the law: 

✓ Accidental 
overpayment 

✓ Purchases 

✓ Loans 

✓ Uniforms are not a 
legal deduction 



VIII - WEEKLY PAYMENT OF 
WAGES 

RSA 275:43 

➢ Permission to pay other than weekly. 
➢ Payment options: checks, direct deposit, or pay- 

cards. 
➢ Paying all wages due: 

– Short breaks and meal period 
– Rounding 
– Late pays/errors in pay 

➢ Fringe benefits 
➢ No fee to cash payroll check; convenient to 

business 
➢ Hourly Employees 



VIII - PAYMENT OF WAGES 
RSA 275:43 

SALARIED EMPLOYEES - RSA 275:43b 

■ Paid same salary each pay period regardless of quality or quantity of 
work. 

UNLESS 
■ No work performed at all or disciplinary suspension with or without 

pay in accordance with Fair Labor Standards Act. 
■ Bereavement Leave 
■ Family and Medical Leave Act 
■ If the salaried employee voluntarily, without coercion or pressure, 

request time off without pay for any portion of a pay period 
■ Hired after the beginning of pay period or terminates of their own 

accord or terminated for cause 
■ Offset any amount received by a salaried employee for jury duty or 

witness fees or military pay. 



IX - TERMINATING AN EMPLOYEE 
RSA 275:44 / RSA 275:45 

SALARY vs HOURLY 

➢ Discharge – 72 hours 

➢ Quit – next regular payday except, if employee gives at least one 
pay period notice, then within 72 hours 

➢ When suspended for labor dispute or laid off for any reason, 
wages should be paid in full not later than next regular pay day 
through regular pay channels or by mail, if requested. 

➢ In the case of a dispute over the amount of wages due, employer 
shall pay without condition and within the set time by this 
subdivision, all wages due. 
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