

State of New Hampshire

Department of Labor

Phone: 603.271.3176 Email: Inspectiondiv@dol.nh.gov

EMPLOYER COMPLIANCE CHECKLIST

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

Workers Compensation Coverage, required if you have one or more employees, full or part-time. RSA 281-A:5

(Worker Compensation email: NHCoverage@dol.nh.gov)

Documents verifying employment eligibility, (i.e., I-9). RSA 275-A:4-a

W-4 - Link to IRS

Register with NH Employment Security within 30 days of first providing employment

Report new employees to NH Employment Security

Mandatory State & Federal Posters – Print Posters Here

Register Business with NH Secretary of State Office.

PAYMENT OPTIONS FOR WAGES DUE

Permission required by NHDOL to pay wages other than Weekly or Biweekly. (i.e. semi-monthly, monthly)

RSA 275:43 I Form to request paying wages other than weekly or biweekly – Complete and Print Here.

Paper Check - Required Offering to Employees. RSA 275:43 I (e)

Direct Deposit - Cannot be Mandated. RSA 275:43 I (c)

Payroll Card - Cannot be Mandated. RSA 275:43 I (d)

RECORD KEEPING REQUIREMENTS

Written Notification signed & dated for every employee. RSA 275:49 I, II - Sample Form

Rate of pay - Hourly/Salary, Commissions, Piece Rates, Flat Rates. RSA 275:49

Established and Posted Payday. RSA 275:49 - Print Poster Here

Written Fringe Benefits Policy - How benefits are accrued; how they are to be used; and how they can be lost; (i.e., termination or resignation). RSA 275:49

Accurate & Legal Time Recording Procedures & Protocols. RSA 279:27. Administrative Rules Lab 803.01(g); Lab 803.03(f) & (g)

Written Authorization for legal deductions. RSA 275:48 - Sample Form

Written Authorization for recovery of Accidental Overpayment of Wages RSA 275:48(d) (4) - Sample Form

Arrangement with local bank for free check cashing. RSA 275:43 (e)

Proper Classification of employees - Misclassification. RSA 281-A:2,VI (d) - Print Criteria Here

For Salaried Exempt vs. Salaried Non Exempt employees, call USDOL (603) 666-7716

SAFETY (15 or more employees RSA 281-A:64)

Safety Program & Manual

Safety Committee (Joint Loss Management Committee)

Safety Summary Form (Please find the instructions Here)

YOUTH EMPLOYMENT

12-15 yr. olds, Youth Certificates due within 3 days of first day of employment. RSA 276-A:5 - Request for Certificate

16-17 yr. olds, Parental Permission due prior to or on first day of employment. RSA 276-A:4,VIII - Sample Form

Youth Hours RSA 276-A:4 IV, VI, VII; RSA 276-A:11; RSA 276-A:12; RSA 276-A:13. Hazardous Occupations for 14/15 yr. olds & 16/17 yr. olds; see state requirements RSA 276-A:4 I, III; Administrative Rules Lab 1003.01; Federal Requirements; and Child Labor Bulletin 101.

NHDOL Approved "School to Work Program" RSA 279:22-aa; If applicable – Worksite Pre-Screen Form – Complete and Print Here.



State of New Hampshire Department of Labor

Phone: 603.271.3176 Email: Inspectiondiv@dol.nh.gov

Sign Up For E-Mail Alerts

From time to time the Department of Labor issues informational alerts of interest to individuals and businesses in New Hampshire. The alerts may announce new laws, changes to existing labor law and rules or announce department- sponsored events or training seminars. You will receive an email with a confirmation link after you enter your subscription information. You will need to use the link in the confirmation email to activate your email alert subscription.

Sign up for e-mail alerts. Please visit our website at: www.nh.gov/labor

• Under "How Do I?" on the right side of the page, "Subscribe to Labor Email Alerts"

Questions?

- Wage & Hour Division: Contact us by email at lnspectiondiv@dol.nh.gov or by phone at 603.271.1492 or 603.271.6294
- **Safety Division:** Contact us by e-mail at Safety@dol.nh.gov or by phone at 603.271.6850 or 603.271.6297.
- Worker's Compensation Coverage: Contact us by email at WorkersComp@dol.nh.gov or by phone at 603.271.3175 or 603.271.0126