

New Hampshire Department of Labor

Best Practices for Employers and Employees During the COVID-19 Pandemic

The NH Department of Labor has received numerous questions from employers and employees regarding resources and guidance for ensuring employee safety during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The information below is being provided in order to assist employers and employees in finding answers to their questions, so they can provide a safer work environment for everyone.

For ALL employers and employees:

For general information regarding COVID-19, the following websites provide a great deal of helpful information:

NH Dept. of Health & Human Services (NHDHHS) - https://www.nh.gov/covid19/

The NHDHHS has also established a hotline for those with COVID-19 questions – (866) 444-4211

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/index.html

The CDC can also be reached by phone – (800) 232-4636

Also, a reminder to all employers, that a First Report of Injury (FROI) must be completed and submitted to the NH Department of Labor within 5 days of your notification of any illness or injury sustained by an employee while working. This should include employees who show symptoms of COVID-19, who may have been exposed to the virus in their workplace.

<u>For PRIVATE businesses/employers</u>: The federal Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) is the agency that has jurisdiction over the enforcement of safety laws and rules for privately-owned businesses in NH. OSHA provides a wealth of information regarding general employee safety on their website, <u>www.osha.gov</u>.

Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) - https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/covid-19/

For those without internet access, OSHA can also be reached at the following phone numbers:

Concord (local) office – (603) 225-1629

Boston (regional) office - (617) 565-9860

For guidance on reporting COVID-19 illnesses in the workplace, OSHA's Enforcement Guidance for Recording Cases of Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) can be found here: https://www.osha.gov/memos/2020-05-19/revised-enforcement-guidance-recording-cases-coronavirus-disease-2019-covid-19

For PUBLIC employers (cities, towns, public schools, counties, and state agencies): The NH Department of Labor has jurisdiction over the enforcement of New Hampshire's safety laws and rules for public-sector employers and employees. Among the safety laws and rules particularly applicable in this pandemic are NH Lab 1403.43 Personal Protective Equipment (PPE), and NH RSA 281-A:64 Safety Provisions. Public employers can become familiar with these provisions here:

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state agencies/lab1400.html

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XXIII/281-A/281-A-64.htm

Also, if a public employee is hospitalized with a serious illness or injury, the public employer must also notify the Labor Commissioner of the hospitalization within 24 hours. If a fatality occurs involving a public employee, the Labor Commissioner must be notified within 8 hours (NH RSA 277:15-b). To report a serious injury or illness or fatality, call (603) 271-0127 or e-mail SafetyDiv@dol.nh.gov

(http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XXIII/277/277-15-b.htm)