

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Andrew Demers,

Communications Director

603-271-3781

New Hampshire Insurance Department Issues Bulletin Regarding Appointment of Insurance Producers

To Remain Compliant, Insurers Must Appoint Producers That Sell Their Products

CONCORD, NH (August 6, 2021) – Today, New Hampshire Insurance Department (NHID) Commissioner Chris Nicolopoulos issued a bulletin reminding insurers that they must comply with N.H. RSA 402-J:14 (I), which requires that all insurance producers acting as the agent of an insurer to be appointed by the insurer.

"The New Hampshire Insurance Department recently became aware of at least one insurer in New Hampshire that had failed to appoint the producers that were selling their products," said Commissioner Nicolopoulos. "Insurers who are not in compliance should immediately appoint all producers acting as their agents. Failure to comply with this statutory requirement may result in administrative action going forward."

New Hampshire statutes provide penalties up to \$2,500 per violation for insurers and producers who sell insurance through a producer without an appointment.

To appoint a producer in New Hampshire, an insurer should utilize the National Insurance Producer Registry gateway and pay the associated fee of \$25.00 at https://nipr.com/products-and-services/nipr-gateway.

The New Hampshire Insurance Department Can Help

The New Hampshire Insurance Department's mission is to promote and protect the public good by ensuring the existence of a safe and competitive insurance marketplace through the development and enforcement of the insurance laws of the State of New Hampshire. Contact us with any questions or concerns you may have regarding your insurance coverage at 1-800-852-3416 or (603) 271-2261, or by email at consumerservices@ins.nh.gov. For more information, visit https://www.nh.gov/insurance.