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L Introduction

On March 5, 2014, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (“CMS”) issued an
Insurance Standards Bulletin providing for the extension of the transition period for non-
grandfathered coverage in the individual and small group insurance markets. The New
Hampshire Insurance Department (“NHID”) adopted this extended transitional guidance via
NHID March 11, 2014 Bulletin INS 14-009-AB thus permitting in the New Hampshire
markets the extended guidance for a policy year starting on or before October 1, 2016.

On February 29, 2016, CMS issued an Insurance Standards Bulletin providing states the
ability to allow for the extension of transitional individual and small group policies to policy
years beginning on or before October 1, 2017, provided that all policies end by December 31,
2017.

The authority to extend the transition to Affordable Care Act (“ACA”) - Compliant policies
is as permitted by the state as set forth in the CMS letter of November 14, 2013.



II. Guidance

Although the CMS Bulletin contemplates that transitional policies can be renewed until
October 1, 2017, it stipulates that no such policy may extend past December 31, 2017. This
could be achieved by “allowing policy years that are shorter than 12 months.” However, a
guarantee period or policy year with less than a 12 month guarantee violates RSA 420-G:4 1.
(a), which provides as follows:

L. Health carriers providing health coverage to individuals and small employers under this
chapter shall be subject to the following:

(a) All premium rates charged shall be guaranteed for a rating period of at least 12
months, and shall not be changed for any reason, including but not limited to a change in
the group's case characteristics.

In addition, CMS, in its February 29, 2016 Bulletin, prohibits the extension of a policy period
beyond 12 months. Therefore, the New Hampshire Insurance Department will not fully adopt
the extended transition to Affordable Care Act — Compliant Policies as contemplated by
CMS. Rather, the transition period will be extended only to policies that are renewed on or
before January 1, 2017. Policies renewing after January 1, 2017 are required to be ACA
compliant.

II1. Contact Information

Questions relating to this Bulletin should be directed to Jennifer Patterson, Health Policy
Legal Counsel, at 603-271-2261, ext. 215 or by email: jennifer.patterson@ins.nh.gov or to
Michael Wilkey, Director Life, Accident and Health at 603.271.2261 or by email:
michael. wilkey@ins.nh.gov.




