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             TO:      All New Hampshire Licensed Health Insurance Companies, Health 
                          Maintenance Organizations, Fraternal Benefit Societies and 
                          Third Party Administrators 

       FROM:      Roger A. Sevigny        
                                                              
        DATE:     October 31, 2007 
 
              RE:    2007 Legislation Affecting Coverage 
 
 
This bulletin is intended to notify carriers of new legislation that may affect their policies or form 
filings.  Carriers will be expected to issue endorsements for renewal policies that contain the changes 
required by recently enacted legislation.  The bills that may affect policy form filings are as follows: 
 
1. Early Intervention Therapy Services for Children (SB 93) This bill requires insurance coverage 
for the costs of early intervention services for children with a developmental disability or delay from 
birth to 36 months of age. Coverage must be provided for expenses of licensed and credentialed 
occupational therapists, physical therapists, speech-language pathologists, and clinical social workers 
if referred by a primary physician. The benefits may be subject to deductibles, co-payments, 
coinsurance, or other terms and conditions of the policy, and may have a cap of $3,200 per child per 
year not to exceed $9,600 by the child’s third birthday.  The bill became effective on September 14, 
2007. 
 
2. Continuation of Group Health Insurance in the Event of Divorce or Legal Separation (SB 197) 
This bill expands continuation of group health insurance in the event of divorce or legal separation by 
amending RSA 415:18 to allow a dependent to stay on the ex-spouse’s group policy for a period of 3 
years and then obtain continuation coverage at the end of the three year period.  The law applies to any 
group policy that covers a resident of New Hampshire regardless of where the policy is issued or 
delivered.  The law becomes effective on January 1, 2008.  The department has issued a bulletin that 
provides further guidance on the application of this law.  
 
3. 90-day Supply of Prescription Drugs  (HB 158) This bill requires carriers to allow their members 
to purchase up to a 90-day supply of covered prescription drugs on their health plan formulary, subject 
to certain conditions.  This law became effective on August 10, 2007. 
 
4. Civil Unions (HB 437)  The New Hampshire Civil Union law becomes effective January 1,  
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2008. The law provides that “civil union couples” shall have the same benefit protections and 
responsibilities under the law as are granted to spouses in a marriage (RSA 457).  Beginning January 1, 
2008, all plans that include dependent coverage should be amended or administered to provide 
coverage to civil union couples.  
 
5. Dependent Coverage for Health Insurance (HB 790) This bill expands the definition of 
dependent children to include children who reside in New Hampshire and are younger than 26 years of 
age. It also allows children who live outside of New Hampshire to obtain coverage as a dependent if 
they are enrolled either on a full-time or part-time basis in an institution of higher education. The 
dependent expansion applies only to policies issued or delivered in New Hampshire.   This law became 
effective on September 15, 2007.  The department has issued a bulletin that provides further guidance 
on the application of this law. 
 
6. Technical Bill (HB921) This is a technical bill which makes changes to the insurance laws.  This 
bill should be reviewed carefully because it makes a number of changes to the law that may impact 
policy form filings.  Some of the changes are as follows: 
 

• RSA 415:18, I (u) In the event that a person is covered by more than one plan, the 
precertification may be obtained by just one carrier. If the services meet the criteria of the 
second plan, the services will be covered and additional pre-certification will be unnecessary.  
If the services do not meet the criteria of the second plan, the second plan may apply its 
certification criteria, but may not refuse to pay for the services based on the failure to obtain 
pre-certification.  

 
• RSA 415:18 VII (c)  Conversion is eliminated, and members will be automatically eligible for 

the New Hampshire High Risk Pool under RSA 404-G if they would have been eligible for a 
conversion policy. 

 
• RSA 415:18 VII (d) This section eliminates the requirement for group carriers to offer insureds 

an individual conversion policy.  The insured will now have the option of obtaining coverage 
from the New Hampshire High Risk Pool after termination of the group contract or policy, or 
during the election of the 39-week extension period. Written notice of the option must be given 
within 30 days after the date of termination. 

 
• RSA 415:18 XVI (f) Carriers must provide notice of the requirements and procedures to 

members and subscribers of their continuation rights under a separate notice.  The COBRA 
notification process may be used, but the notice must contain the information required to 
inform the member of his or her state continuation rights.  

 
• RSA 415:18 XVI (h)(4) Notice must be provided when coverage ends due to nonpayment of 

premium.   The notice may not be issued retroactively. 
 

• This bill is effective January 1, 2008. Reinsurance sections are effective September 1, 2007. 
 
 
The web link can be found at http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/ie/billstatus/quickbill.html 
 
Questions should be directed to Maureen Hartsmith at Maureen.Hartsmith@ins.nh.gov. 
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