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        TO:  All Workers’ Compensation Insurers 

 FROM:  Roger Sevigny       
 
  DATE:  December 3, 2007 
 
       RE:  Workers’ Compensation Advisory Loss Costs and Rating Values 
                NCCI Filing Effective January 1, 2008 
 
 
The State of New Hampshire Insurance Department has approved the National Council on 
Compensation Insurance’s Advisory Loss Cost and Rating Values filing dated September 18, 
2007 to be effective January 1, 2008. 
 
The approved voluntary loss cost change is a decrease of 2.8% on average.  The average 
approved change for assigned risk rates is a decrease of 3.0%. 
 
In line with our July 1, 1995 directive, all companies writing Workers’ Compensation coverage 
in the State of New Hampshire are required to adopt and use NCCI’s WC Advisory Loss Cost 
and Rating Values effective January 1, 2008.  There are two elements of the NCCI filing that, 
this year, will possibly require additional filing activity on the part of insurers: 
 

1.  The residual market loss cost multiplier for 2008 will be 1.611. 
 

NH statutes RSA 412:28 and 412:29 were revised in 2005.  Insurers can file, and 
once approved, use broad based loss cost multipliers greater than the loss cost 
multiplier approved for the residual market.  Approval is contingent on the 
submission of appropriate justification along with a completed Form RFF-1, 
Prospective Loss Costs Reference Filing Adoption Form. 

 
The Department reminds insurers that the provisions of RSA 412:30 must be 
followed.  Insureds receiving a premium quote that is higher than that which 
would be derived from the rates and rating plan approved for the assigned risk 
plan, shall be made aware that coverage may be obtained at a lower premium 
through the assigned risk plan. 



 
2.  The maximum minimum premium has been changed from $900 to $1,000 under the 

assigned risk plan. 
 

The formula for determining minimum premiums has been revised along with a 
change in the maximum minimum premium from $900 to $1,000.  Before 
changing to a higher maximum minimum premium, insurers will have to submit a 
filing to the Department reflecting desired changes to their Miscellaneous Values 
Page. 

 
 
Any filings received during January 2008 pertaining to either of these items may be retroactively 
applied to reflect an effective date of January 1, 2008. 
 
Questions on the above may be addressed to Lorette Gendron at (603) 271-2261 or 
lorette.gendron@ins.nh.gov. 
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