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FINAL DECISION and ORDER

Pursuant to the provisions of Ins 204.26(a)(4), the Proposed Decision and
Order issued on December 7, 2018, by Hearing Officer Kevin G. Collimore is
hereby ACCEPTED as a FINAL DECISION and ORDER, with the following
MODIFICATIONS:
1 On page 1 in the first paragraph of the “The Hearing” section, the
reference to Ins 204.04 (c) is deleted and replaced with Ins 203.01(c). As
such, the second sentence of that paragraph shall read as follows:
The undersigned served as the hearing officer in the matter pursuant
to Ins 202.01(h); 203.01(c).
2, On page 3 in paragraph 3, the reference to RSA 400-A:14(c) at the end
of that paragraph is modified such that the last sentence in that paragraph

reads as follows:

See RSA 400-A:14(T)(c); Ex. 2 at 17.



3.

On page 5 in paragraph 17 the reference after the first sentence of that

paragraph is modified to read as follows:

+.

Id. at 50, 1913-14.

On page 7 in paragraph 6 the reference to RSA 402-J:12, I, is modified

such that the paragraph reads as follows:

5.

The NHID established by a preponderance of evidence that the
Respondent violated RSA 402-J:12,1(h) in using fraudulent, coercive, or
dishonest practices, or demonstrating incompetence,
untrustworthiness or financial irresponsibility in the conduct of
business in this state or elsewhere, including without limitation as
provided in final orders from Florida, Alaska, and South Dakofa:

On page 7 in paragraph 7 the reference to RSA 402-J:12, I, is modified

such that paragraph 7 reads as follows:

6.

The NHID established by a preponderance of evidence that the
Respondent violated RSA 402-J:12,1(i) in that his insurance producer
license was denied, suspended, and revoked in other states.

Paragraph 12 on page 7 of the Proposed Order is not adopted.

Paragraph 12 of the Order is replaced with the following paragraph:

Pursuant to New Hampshire law, the “commissioner may place on
probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew an insurance
producer’s license, or may levy a penalty in accordance with RSA 400-
A:15, IIT or any combination of actions” for violations of insurance
laws; using fraudulent or dishonest practices: having another state
take administrative-action against a producer’s license; and knowingly
accepting insurance business from an individual who is not licensed.
See RSA 402-J:12, 1 (b),(h),(1),(1). RSA 400-A:15, III provides that any
“person who knowingly violates any statute, rule, regulation, or order
of the commissioner may, upon hearing, except where other penalty is
expressly provided, be subject to such suspension or revocation of
certificate of authority or license, or administrative fine not to exceed
$2500 per violation . . .” In the insurance regulatory context “knowing”
violations do not require that someone have actual knowledge that his
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or her activities are unlawful. See Appeal of Metropolitan Property and
Luability Ins. Co., 120 N.H. 733 (N.H. 1980). Rather, it “is enough that
the acts complained of are done voluntarily rather than through
mistake or inadvertence.” See id.

T On page 8 after Paragraph 15, Paragraphs 16-18 shall be included in
the Order as below:

16.  The NHID has established by a preponderance of the evidence
that the Respondent violated RSA 402-J :12,I(h) by engaging in
dishonest practices and the fine for this violation shall be $2500.

17. The NHID has established by a preponderance of the evidence
that the Respondent violated RSA 402-J- 12,1(i) multiple times in light
of administrative actions taken against his producer license in other
states and the fine for these violations shall be $2000.

18.  The NHID has established by a preponderance of the evidence
that the Respondent violated RSA 402-J :12,I(1) by knowingly accepting
insurance business from someone who is not licensed and the fine for
this violation shall be $2500.
8. On page 8 of the Proposed Order in the “Proposed Decision” Section
the last sentence is modified, such that the last sentence of the Order reads as

follows:

Christopher S. Laws is fined, as detailed above, in the total amount of
Twelve Thousand Dollars ($12,000).



This is the final action of the Department. You have the right to appeal by

requesting reconsideration of this final action within 30 days in accordance

with RSA 541.

SO ORDERED.
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Date John las, CommisSioner
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