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THE STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
In Re: David J. Gogolen

18-003-EP

PROPOSED DECISION AND ORDER

The New Hampshire Insurance Department (hereinafter “the Department™) issued an
Order To Show Cause to David J. Gogolen (hereinafter “Respondent™), a New Hampshire
insurance adjuster, on January 25, 2018, alleging that the Respondent violated RSA 402-B:1.
Based on this allegation, the Department seeks suspension or revocation of the Respondent’s
adjuster license and a fine of $3500.

After a continuance of the matter at the request of the Respondent, a hearing on the
merits at the New Hampshire Insurance Department occurred on April 17, 2018. Sheri Eldridge,
Enforcement Counsel, represented the Department at the hearing. The Respondent attended the
hearing with his attorney, Jason Dennis.

At the parties’ request, I kept the record open after the hearing so that the parties would
have ten (10) days to file proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law. After the parties
submitted their filings, I closed the record on April 30, 2018.

This proceeding is governed by RSA 541-A, the Administrative Procedure Act, as well as
rules adopted by the Department, Ins. 200, Practices and Procedures. With regard to evidence
received in this proceeding, all evidence must be relevant to the issues presented. See RSA 541-
A:33,1I; Ins. 203.01(d)(4). All evidence received in this proceeding has met this standard.

After considering the record, the Department has sustained its burden to suspend the

Respondent’s adjuster license for one (1) week. As to the Department’s request for



administrative fines for each violation, I propose that the Respondent should be fined in the

amount of $3500, as requested by the Department and discussed in further detail below.

I. Allegation

Specifically, the Department alleges that between October 2, 2016 and October 24, 2017,
the Respondent adjusted one hundred and forty-five (145)" New Hampshire insurance claims

without an insurance adjuster’s license in violation of RSA 402-B:1.

11. Burden and Standard of Proof

A. Standard for Revocation and Suspension of a License.

As to hearings in which the Department seeks to suspend or revoke an insurance
adjuster’s license, as here, the Department bears the initial burden of going forward. To meet its
burden, the Department must establish a prima facie case with evidence for each violation. See
Ins. 204:05 (b). The Respondent then bears the burden of persuasion to present evidence that the
Department’s position should not be upheld. See id.

The standard of proof for both the Department and the Respondent is proof by a
“preponderance of the evidence,” which means that what is sought to be proved by the evidence
is more probable than not. Ins. 204:05 (a); (¢).

B. Standard for Administrative Fines

As to hearings in which the Department seeks to impose administrative fines, the
Depaﬁment bears the overall burden of proof. See Ins. 204:05 (d). The standard of proofis

proof by a preponderance of the evidence. See id.

YIn its Order to Show Cause, the Department initially alleged that the Respondent had adjusted 147 insurance
claims without his adjuster license. See Department’s Order to Show Cause at §7. At the outset of the hearing,
the Department requested to amend the number of claims to 145 insurance claims. The Respondent did not
object and | granted the Department’s verbal motion to amend the number of insurance claims referred to in
Paragraph 7 of the Department’s Order to Show Cause from 147 to 145.
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III.  Factual Background

The record reveals the following relevant facts.

A. The Department’s January 25, 2018 Letter to the Respondent,
Department Exhibit 1

On January 25, 2018, the Department sent the Respondent a Notice of Hearing by
standard and certified mail along with the Order To Show Cause to his address on record of 62
Boyce Road, Canterbury, NH 03224, informing him of his February 21, 2018 hearing at the
Department.” On February 1, 2018, the Respondent signed receipt of this letter on a certified
mail slip that was returned to the Department. On that same day, the Respondent informed the
Department in an email that he had received the letter by standard and certified mail.

B. The Respondent’s Insurance Adjuster License Summary,
Department Exhibit 2

According to his Adjuster License Summary that was printed out in February 2018, the
Respondent first became licensed as a resident, insurance adjuster in New Hampshire in October
1994.°> His current adjuster license became active on November 3, 2017 and expires on October
1, 2019. Under his current license, he may adjust property and casualty insurance claims,
excluding worker’s compensation claims.

As of November 2017, the mailing address the Respondent had provided to the
Department in his application was 62 Boyce Road, Canterbury, New Hampshire 03224. The
Respondent had also provided dgogolen@gmail.com as an email address.

According to testimony from the Department’s Licensing Supervisor, Joan Lacourse, an

adjuster’s application is available from a central database of the National Insurance Producer

: Subsequently, through counsel, the Respondent requested a continuance of the hearing, which was granted and
the hearing was rescheduled to April 17, 2018.

= Testimony by the Respondent and a Department witness, Joan Lacourse, suggest that he could have been
licensed to adjust claims before 1994 but that older information may not have been transferred to the
Department’s database when the system was updated.



Registry (“NIPR”). The NIPR national database is part of the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners (“NAIC”) online licensing system that adjusters use to submit their license
applications. Once a license is approved within the NIPR online system, that information is
transferred to the resident state, which issues the license.

According to Ms. Lacourse, the Department utilizes the information in the License
Adjuster Summary to track adjuster activity. Within Department Exhibit 2 is a status history
report of the Respondent’s adjuster license and the Respondent’s most recent adjuster
applications submitted through the NIPR system. These application submissions include resident
adjuster license applications submitted on October 25, 2017, and November 24, 2014, as well as
resident adjuster license renewal applications submitted on August 15, 2012, and August 19,
2010. As part of all of these applications, the Respondent attested that he understood and would
comply with insurance laws and regulations of his resident state.

Under the Notes section within the Respondent’s License Summary, Cheryl Gagnon
noted on October 27, 2017 that the Respondent’s application had been sent to enforcement due
to adjusting claims after his 2016 license expiration. On November 3, 2017, another note states
“enforcement ok’d” but enforcement was still reviewing Respondent’s license application.

At the end of Department Exhibit 2, there is an email notice sent from DOI:Licensing

Renewals to david.gogolen@ncagroup.com, dated August 2, 2016. The notice states that the

“New Hampshire Insurance Department requires all ADJUSTERS to renew their license online™
and “Electronic renewals will not be accepted before 8/2/2016 or after 10/01/2016.” In addition,
the notice states that “Failure to renew a license by 10/1/16 will result in license cancellation and

the fee of $150 to reinstate. Per RSA:400-a:29” and “NH does not accept late renewals.”



C. The Department’s November 27, 2017 Letter to the Respondent,
Department Exhibit 3

On November 27, 2017, the Enforcement Division (“Enforcement™) sent the Respondent
a letter by U.S. Mail to his 62 Boyce Road, Canterbury address and by email to

David.Gogolen@Worleyco.com and dgogolen@gmail.com, informing the Respondent that the

Department was investigating his adjuster license. The Respondent testified that he received this
letter.

The Department’s letter states that after the Respondent’s adjuster license expired on
October 1, 2016, he submitted a new application for an adjuster license on October 25, 2017,
which was issued on that day. The letter states that because the Respondent had informed
Licensing personnel that he had adjusted claims after his license expired in 2016, the Department
sought specific information pertaining to all claims he adjusted between October 1, 2016 and
October 24, 2017 within ten days.

D. Respondent’s December 8, 2017 Letter to the Department,
Department Exhibit 4

In response to Enforcement’s November 27, 2017 letter, the Respondent sent a letter to
the Department, which provided six pages of claim information that the Department had
requested, dated from October 2016 through October 2017. In doing so, he noted that some of
the claims were duplicates due to the conversion of software programs, which he highlighted for
the Department.

In his response, the Respondent stated that during his twenty-six years of adjusting
claims, he had not been investigated by the Department so he was “quite anxious™ about the
Department’s review of “this inadvertent oversight” on his part. He stated that if he could do

anything to move the investigation process along more quickly, he would assist in the



investigation by providing answers to questions or additional documentation that the Department
would like to review.

E. Department August 2014 Adjuster Licensing Renewal Notice,
Department Exhibit §

The Department sent a renewal notice to the Respondent on August 4, 2014 at Woodland
Claims Service, Inc. The notice states that the New Hampshire Insurance Department requires
all adjusters to renew their licenses online and that renewal must be completed online “no later
than 10/01/2014.” At the bottom of the document instructions are provided as to how to renew
an adjuster license through the online system. Licenses that are not renewed would be cancelled.

The notice states that in the future the Department would not be sending adjusters
renewal licenses by regular mail. Instead, adjusters must provide the Department with current
email information for future notifications. In addition, non-receipt of a renewal license “does
not negate your responsibility to renew your license.”

F. Department Website Adjuster Licensing Information (Printed 4/16/18),
Department Exhibit 6

The Department’s website contains licensing information for producers and adjusters,
including a notice that the Department will send out courtesy renewal reminders, by email only,
approximately two months prior to license expiration. The website materials emphasize that it is
imperative for adjusters to update the Department with any email changes. However, “NON
RECEIPT OF AN EMAIL REMINDER DOES NOT NEGATE YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO
RENEW YOUR LICENSE.” There is a link provided for individuals and businesses to use for
email maintenance.

Another website page entitled “Resources for Persons Interested in Renewing or

Obtaining Adjuster Licenses™ provides information about adjuster renewals. Under “Renewal



License™ on that particular page there is a notice stating that the 2017 Adjuster renewal cycle is
closed and refers the reader to “REINSTATEMENTS.” “Reinstatements of License,’; which is
on the same page, reflects that expired resident adjuster licenses may be reinstated within two
years of expiration if continuing education requirements are met and the online application fee is
paid.

G. Fall 2017 Email Correspondence between Licensing Department &
Respondent, Department Exhibit 7

On October 26, 2017, Ms. Gagnon of the Licensing Department sent the Respondent an
email informing him that his reinstatement application had been received and sent to
Enforcement, as they had discussed the previous day. Ms. Gagnon informed the Respondent that
someone from Enforcement would contact him soon.

In response, on November 1, 2017, the Respondent emailed Ms. Gagnon, thanking her
for speaking to him that morning and stating that he had left a voicemail message for the
Enforcement Division. He asked if there was any way he could obtain a temporary license so
that he could continue working while his license was under review. He intended to review his
financial records to see if he had done his renewal on time. However, he thought that he had
inadvertently failed to submit his renewal application on time. He informed Ms. Gagnon that
this was the first time he had failed to renew his license in 26 years and that all of his CE* credits
were submitted before the renewal deadline. It was his recent review of his CE credits on the
Department’s website that led him to discover the problem with his license. At the end, he

stated that if Ms. Gagnon had any guidance to offer, he would appreciate it.

“ “CE” refers to continuing education credits.



H. Summary of Testimony of Joan Lacourse

Joan Lacourse testified on behalf of the Department as the Licensing Supervisor for the
Department. Her job responsibilities include overseeing the issuance of adjuster and producer
licenses and supervising staff involved in the compliance of adjuster laws with current licensees
in New Hampshire.

Pursuant to state law, Ms. Lacourse testified that adjuster licenses that are subject to
renewal expire every other year on October 1. For newly licensed adjusters, their licenses expire
on the second October 1st after their license has been issued. According to Ms. Lacourse, since
2015, the Licensing Department has sent out email reminders in August to adjusters to remind
them to submit their license renewal applications by the October 1 deadline. This is done as a
courtesy rather than a requirement. Prior to that, the Department sent letters to licensees by mail
to remind them to renew their licenses by October 1.

Ms. Lacourse states that the Department website provides access to all licensing laws
applicable to New Hampshire adjusters in addition to posting when the adjuster renewal cycle is
open. Annually, the Department website permits adjusters to submit renewal applications from
August 2 up until 12:01 am on October 2 every year. After that time, if adjusters need to
maintain their licenses, they must submit a longer application for reinstatement of their license,
as if tfley have not had an adjuster license the past year, because the renewal application is no
longer available.

As reflected in Department Exhibit 2, on August 2, 2016, the Department sent the
Respondent a renewal notice to his business email address at david.gogolen@ncagroup.com,
which had been the Respondent’s email at the time based upon his update of this information in

the online system on November 24, 2014. Within the Respondent’s Status History Report in



Department Exhibit 2, there were three separate times, on October 2, 2008; October 2, 2014 and
October 2, 2016, when the Respondent’s adjuster license had expired. In order to reactivate his
adjuster license, he had to file new adjuster license applications, rather than renewal applications,
on October 8, 2008; November 24, 2014; and October 25, 2017.

Ms. Lacourse testified that between October 27, 2017 and November 3, 2017, the
Respondent’s adjuster license was inactivated because the Licensing Department had referred the
status of his license to Enforcement after learning he had been adjusting claims the past year with
an expired license. Ms. Lacourse testified that once a licensing matter has been referred to
Enforcement for review, like the Respondent’s had been, the Licensing Department informs
licensees or potential licensees that they have to wait to hear from Enforcement. Likewise, all
telephone calls or emails to the Licensing Department from that particular licensee would be
forwarded to Enforcement for a response. In doing so, Ms. Lacourse or another Licensing
employee would let Enforcement know that the licensee is seeking the status of his or her
license.

During cross-examination, Ms. Lacourse explained that adjusters must go through the
online NIPR system to submit their renewal applications or other licensing application forms.
The Department requires and maintains continuing education (“CE”) credits of adjusters. As a
result, the NIPR online application system will reject adjuster applications upon renewal or
reinstatement if an adjuster has not complied with the CE credit requirement. As such, the
Respondent had to have been CE compliant for the system to accept his application in 2017.

L Summary of Testimony of Cheryl Gagnon

Cheryl Gagnon testified on behalf of the Department as an employee of the Licensing

Department. Her job responsibilities include managing adjuster licensing and continuing



education issues.

The NIPR online system approved the Respondent’s adjuster license application that was
submitted on October 24, 2017. Soon after that approval, the Respondent spoke to Ms. Gagnon
over the telephone. In that telephone conversation he informed her that he had been adjusting
claims over the past year in 2016 and 2017 after his previous adjuster license had expired. As a
result, she updated his license summary information as within Department Exhibit 2, on October
27,2017, to reflect that she had referred the matter to the Enforcement Division. With this
update she changed the status of the Respondent’s license from active to inactive on October 27,
2017, because that is what Licensing would do whenever a problem arose with activities of a
licensee.

Upon cross-examination, she testified that although there had not been a hearing relating
to the Respondent’s license, once she referred his licensing issue to Enforcement for review, his
adjuster license would have been put on inactive status. In addition, even if the Respondent
contacted the Licensing Department numerous times after the referral, the Licensing Department
would not be able to assist him with his licensing questions because Enforcement had to review
the matter. On November 3, 2017, an email was sent to the Respondent to inform him that the
Department had “reactivated™ his adjuster license.

J. Summary of Testimony of the Respondent

After being sworn in, the Respondent stated that he had been licensed as a New
Hampshire adjuster at least twenty-six (26) years. He has had to renew his property and casualty
insurance adjuster license at least ten times during that period and most of his license renewals

have been on time. He has adjusted at least a thousand claims over the course of his career. In
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doing so, he would engage with insureds and claimants on a regular basis in-person, as well as

through telephonic and written communications.

The Respondent agreed that he had provided a list to the Department of approximately
145 insurance claims that he had adjusted between October 2, 2016 and October 24, 2017
without an adjuster license, as reflected in Department Exhibit 4. The Respondent testified that
although he knew he was adjusting claims during that time, he did not know that he did not have
an adjuster license, as his renewal was an oversight. During that time period, he did not receive
any complaints about his work from insureds or claimants, and to his knowledge, he did not act
in any way that would violate RSA 402-B.

He also testified that despite his conflicting statement to Ms. Gagnon in his email to her
on November 1, 2017, within Department Exhibit 7, his failure to renew his license in October
2016 was not the first time he had forgotten to renew his adjuster license on time. He stated that
in 2008 there was an issue with his license because CE credits had not been recorded properly so
his adjuster renewal application was filed late. That issue was resolved as soon as he became
aware of it within a few days. In 2008, he was not told by the Department that he could not
adjust claims before the issue was resolved. In 2014, he was approximately two months late
renewing his adjuster license based upon his own records and the Department’s records of his
license. He has no memory as to why that occurred. However, before that time he had owned
his own business with a procedure in place to review and update adjuster licenses of his
employees in various states prior to their expiration dates. Since working for another employer,
a similar procedure has not in place but he intends to change that so he will not be late filing his

renewal applications in the future.

* RSA 402-B contains the New Hampshire statutory provisions pertaining to licensure of insurance claims adjusters.
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In 2016, he testified that he had done everything else to keep his adjuster license current,
like maintaining his CE credits, except filing the renewal forms and sending in his licensing fee
for the renewal. In 2017, he was under the impression that his license was still active. On
October 25, 2017, he received information from a CE vendor that his CE credits were approved.
On that day he checked the Department’s website to make sure these CE records had been
updated to his adjuster license. Upon doing so, he learned that his adjuster license was inactive
and he contacted the Department to discuss this issue with the Licensing Department.

As to more recent claims, the Respondent testified that the list of claims in Department
Exhibit 4 included insurance claims he had adjusted between October 25, 2017 and November 3,
2017. That timeframe included a short period in which the Department had told him his license
was inactive.

IV. Legal Analysis

A. Adjuster Licensing Allegation, RSA 402-B:1
The Department alleges that the Respondent violated RSA 402-B:1 by adjusting 145

insurance claims between October 2, 2016 and October 24, 2017 without a current adjuster
license, and therefore, he should be penalized for these regulatory violations.

RSA 402-B:1 provides that “it is unlawful for any person, whether as agent or employee,
to act directly or indirectly, as an insurance claims adjuster in this state for any insurance
company unless licensed as provided in this chapter.” Likewise, property and casualty insurers
are prohibited from utilizing the services of an adjuster unless that adjuster has complied with the
licensing requirements within RSA 402-B. See Ins 1002.10. Pursuant to RSA 402-B:2, 11, an
“insurance claims adjuster” is any person who “investigates, negotiates, or settles property,
casualty, or workers' compensation claims whether employed by or contracted by or with an
insurer, a claims adjusting company, or a third party administrator.”
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As to the requirements for licensure of adjusters, applications must be made to the
Department in writing at which time the Department determines the suitability for issuance of an
adjuster’s license. See RSA 402-B:3. In doing so, the Department considers the qualifications
and character of the applicant and will grant the license if it is not against the public interest to
doso. See RSA 402-B:7. Specifically, as to the renewal of an adjuster’s license, unless revoked
by the Department, an adjuster’s license will expire “on October 1 of the second calendar year
after its issue.” RSA 402-B:10-a.

Based upon the foregoing, it is clear that in New Hampshire, the Department determines
whether an adjuster is qualified to obtain a professional license to adjust insurance claims and
renew a license about to expire. Likewise, the Department establishes the renewal cycles for
these professional licenses and the fees associated with these applications. See RSA 402-B:8.
Thus, although an adjuster may have had his license application approved in the past, the
Department still must determine whether an applicant should have their license renewed based
upon information it receives from the applicant and any other source to ensure that issuing the
license is not harmful to insurance consumers and claimants.

Here, there is no dispute that the Respondent was acting as an insurance claims adjuster
when he adjusted 145 New Hampshire insurance claims between October 2016 and October
2017 without a current license. At the hearing, the Respondent agreed that he violated RSA 402-
B:1, as alleged by the Department in Paragraph # 5 of the Department’s Order To Show Cause.
However, he asserts that his violation was not a “knowing” violation, and therefore, he should

not be penalized.
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B. Penalties For Violating Adjuster Licensure Laws

Pursuant to RSA 402-B:13, anyone acting in New Hampshire as an insurance claims
adjuster without a license is subject to suspension or revocation of his or her adjuster license and
a fine not to exceed $2500. Here, by adjusting 145 separate insurance claims without a current
license between October 2016 and October 2017, the Respondent violated RSA 402-B:1 one
hundred and forty five (145) times. His defense, that he did not “know” that he was in violation
of the law when he was adjusting these claims is misplaced, as explained below.

First, neither RSA 402-B:1 nor RSA 402-B:13 establish a frame of mind requiring actual
knowledge of an adjuster law violation as an essential element required to find a regulatory
violation. Rather, there is no mention in either statute that an adjuster must “know” that he is in
violation of RSA 402-B in order for the Department to impose a penalty upon him. Other
statutes within Title XXXVII (Insurance) do require a violation to be “knowingly,” see. e.g.,
RSA 400-A:15(11l), in order to impose a penalty. Thus, if the Legislature had intended an
adjuster’s violation to be “knowingly” in order to impose a penalty for failure to obtain a current
New Hampshire adjuster’s license, it would have included that language in either RSA 402-B:1
or RSA 402-B:13. As the Legislature chose not to include a “knowingly” requirement within
RSA 402-B, I am not inclined to impose such a requirement here.

Furthermore, even if “knowingly” was a requirement to impose a penalty under RSA
402-B:1, as it is in RSA 400-A:15 (1I)%, “knowing” violations in the insurance regulatory
context do not require that someone have actual knowledge that his or her activities are unlawful.

See Appeal of Metropolitan Property and Liability Ins. Co., 120 N.H. 733 (N.H. 1980). Unlike

® RSA 400-A:15 (Ill) Any person who knowingly violates any statute, rule, regulation, or order of the commissioner
may, upon hearing, except where other penalty is expressly provided, be subject to such suspension or revocation
of certificate of authority or license, or administrative fine not to exceed $2,500 per violation, as may be applicable
under this title for violation of the statute or the provision to which the rule, regulation, or order relates.
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the criminal code, the insurance code does not define “knowingly.” See, e.g., RSA 626:2(11)(b)
(knowingly requires awareness of a particular type of conduct). Rather, as the New Hampshire
Supreme Court has explained in insurance regulatory matters it ““is enough that the acts

complained of are done voluntarily rather than through mistake or inadvertence. See Appeal of

Metropolitan Property and Liability Ins. Co., 120 N.H. 733 (N.H. 1980).

“Mistake or inadvertence” in the regulatory context would be something that is beyond
the control of the Respondent. For example, if the Respondent filed his renewal application but
the Department did not receive it because of a system error or another error of the Department or

a third party. Compare. e.g., Appeal of William H. Morgan, R.PH. 144 N.H. 44, 53 (1999)

(upholding Pharmacy Board’s finding of professional misconduct of a pharmacist based on a
determination that a willful violation of a pharmacy statute means a violation in which nothing
beyond the pharmacist’s control prevented him from abiding by the statute).

Here, there is no evidence that a third party interfered with or prevented the Respondent
from filing either his renewal application on time in 2016 or a reinstatement application after
October 1, 2016 when the renewal process was no longer available. There is also no assertion or
evidence that he was somehow mentally or physically incapacitated from filing his renewal
application on time. Moreover, the Respondent has been an adjuster for many years; he knew he
was obligated under the insurance code to apply for renewals on time as he had done for many
years; and over the course of his career he received information from the Department, either
through renewal notices or the Department website, that he had to renew his license every other
October to comply with New Hampshire insurance adjuster laws. Likewise, he could have
reinstated his license after October 1, 2016 by completing a reinstatement application online after

the renewal link was no longer available, which is the process that he used in 2017 to reinstate
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his license. In sum, it was the Respondent’s own voluntary actions that led to his renewal
application not being filed on time. Thus, even if “knowingly” was a required element under
RSA 402-B:1 or RSA 402-B:13, that requirement would have been met in this case.

c. Mitigating Factors Relevant to Regulatory Penalty

As penalty, the Department requests a fine of $3500 and either suspension or
revocation of the Respondent’s adjuster license. Pursuant to RSA 402-B:13(1I), any person who
acts as an insurance adjuster in New Hampshire without being licensed, shall be “subject to
suspension or revocation of his license and a fine not to exceed $2500 for each violation.” The
amount of the financial penalty and extent of a revocation or suspension of a license rests with
the Commissioner. See, e.g.. RSA 402-B:12 (Commissioner may impose penalties pertaining to
an adjuster’s license after a hearing for good cause). As such, when considering proper sanctions
with regard to administrative penalties that may adversely licensees, mitigating factors must be
considered.

During his hearing, the Respondent acknowledged that he forgot to send in his renewal
application and fee on time and he had not realized that his license had expired in October 2016
until he checked the Department website on October 25, 2017 to see if his adjuster CE credits
had been updated. At that time, he realized his license had expired. However, it was too late to
file a renewal application through the NIPR online system linked to the Department website and
there is no option for a licensee to file a New Hampshire renewal application in person or
otherwise. He had completed his required CE credits to maintain his adjuster’s license and Ms.
Lacourse attested to that fact as well. The Respondent stated that he regrets not having an
individual procedure for himself to remind him to renew his license on time and he has taken

steps to correct that so this does not happen to him again.

16



As to the Respondent’s history as an insurance adjuster in New Hampshire for the past 26
years, he stated that he has had a few complaints about his work over the years but nothing that
has led to any prior enforcement actions. He is licensed as an adjuster in Maine and Vermont
and there have not been any complaints against him relating to his work as an adjuster in those
states. Likewise, the Department did not assert or present any evidence that the Respondent’s
prior activities as an adjuster have caused harm to any insurance consumers or claimants.

With regard to Enforcement’s review of his license application in 2017 and his expired
license in 2016, the Respondent fully cooperated with the Department; he provided the
Department with all requested documentation; and he sought to resolve this matter with the
Department as quickly as he could. There is no assertion by the Department that the Respondent
has tried to deceive or hide his activities in any way or that he has engaged in deceptive or other
negative practices with insurance consumers and claimants during the time he was unlicensed as
an adjuster or any other time. Finally, as the Respondent testified, and other evidence reflects,
the Enforcement case arose due to the Respondent’s communication with the Licensing
Department in late October 2017 that his license had expired in 2016. The foregoing factors are
all mitigating factors in the Respondent’s favor.

The failure of the Respondent to renew his license prior to its expiration in October 2016
is concerning given the number of insurance claims he adjusted, 145, and the length of time, over
a year, that he was adjusting insurance claims without a current license. In addition, the
Respondent admitted that this is not the first time he had failed to renew his adjuster license on
time. Based on Department Exhibit 2, there were three separate times, on October 2, 2008;
October 2, 2014; and October 2, 2016 in which the Respondent’s adjuster license expired and he

had to file new adjuster license applications, rather than renewal applications, in order to activate
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his license again on October 8, 2008; November 24, 2014; and October 25, 2017. Finally, given
the Respondent’s experience as an adjuster for many years with insureds and claimants, by now,
he should understand the importance and necessity of maintaining a current adjuster license
within this state. The foregoing facts are aggravating factors in considering the Respondent’s
penalty in this matter.

Considering all of the evidence, including mitigating and aggravating factors in this case,
I propose a fine of $3500, as the Department has requested. In addition, I propose that the

Respondent’s adjuster license be suspended for 1 week.

V. Proposed Findings of Fact & Law

The Department and the Respondent have submitted proposed findings of fact and law.
To the extent such proposed findings of fact and law are consistent and addressed within this

Order, they are granted. All others are denied.

VI. Conclusion

Based on the foregoing, I propose that the Respondent’s adjuster license should be
SUSPENDED FOR 1 WEEK as a result of his regulatory his violations, as specified above. In

addition, I propose that a total fine be levied in the sum of $3500, as discussed herein.

SO ORDERED.
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i Heather Silverstein, Hearing Officer
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