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THE STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

In Re: Eric Oster

Docket No.: 21-046-EP

PROPOSED DECISION AND ORDER

Appearance for Respondent:
No Appearance
Appearance for Department:
Joshua S. Hilliard, Esquire
Enforcement Counsel
NH Insurance Department
Hearing Officer:

Roni M. Karnis, Esquire

L Background

Eric Oster (“Respondent™) is a non-resident insurance producer licensed to sell

Accident and Health or Sickness insurance.! The New Hampshire Insurance Department

(“NHID” or “Department”) first issued the non-resident license to Respondent on
October 26, 2020, which is set to expire on November 30, 2021.2 On July 19, 2021, the

Department issued an Order to Show Cause and Notice of Hearing.> The hearing was
scheduled for August 25, 2021 at 1:00 p.m. at the New Hampshire Insurance

Department.* The Insurance Commissioner appointed the undersigned as Hearing

Officer to conduct a hearing pursuant to NH RSA 400-A:19.°
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Per the Order to Show Cause, the Department alleges that Respondent violated (1)
NH RSA 402-J:12, I(c) by obtaining a license through misrepresentation or fraud when
he caused the credit card payment of the required fee to be reversed and remain unpaid,
(2) NH RSA 401-J:12, I (b) by failing to pay the non-refundable application fee when he
caused the credit card payment of same to be reversed and (3) NH RSA 400-A:16, Il by
failing to provide information requested by the Department pursuant to NH RSA 400-
A:16.% Therein, the Department recommends both a revocation of license and
administrative fine not to exceed $2,500 as sanctions for the alleged violations.’

A copy of the Order to Show Cause and Notice of Hearing was sent by United States
Postal Service (“USPS) regular mail and certified mail, return receipt requested, to
Respondent.® The same was sent to Respondent’s residential address, business and
mailing address on file at the National Insurance Producer Registry (“NIPR”).° The
Department received a certified mail receipt card bearing a signature and delivery date of
July 29, 2021 for the certified mail sent to the Respondent’s mailing address in Lantana,
Florida.!

On August 25, 2021 at 1:00 p.m., the Respondent failed to appear at the New
Hampshire Insurance Department located at 21 South Fruit Street, Suite 14, Concord,
New Hampshire. A hearing was held in absentia. Enforcement Counsel Joshua S.
Hilliard presented evidence by offer of proof and testimony of Joan LaCourse. The
following exhibits were received into evidence and marked accordingly:

Exhibit 1: Order to Show Cause and Notice of Hearing dated 7/19/2021 and letter
Exhibit 2: Service of Notice Information

Exhibit 3: NHID Licensing Information for Respondent

Exhibit 4: Respondent’s application through NIPR

Exhibit 5: Electronic Correspondence from NIPR to NHID dated 5/20/2021
Exhibit 6: NHID electronic correspondence to Respondent dated 5/20/2021
Exhibit 7: Enforcement counsel correspondence to Respondent dated 6/16/2021
Exhibit 8: Affidavit of Sarah Prescott dated 8/5/2021

Exhibit 9: State of Wisconsin Order of Revocation dated 7/26/2021

5 Ex. 1 at pgs. 2-3
TEx.latpg.3
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In closing, the Department requested that Respondent’s license be revoked and that
an administrative fine of $1,000 be imposed.!!
At the conclusion of the Department’s case and closing argument, both the hearing

and record were closed.

IL Findings of Fact

The Department issued an Order to Show Cause and Notice of Hearing (“Notice of
Hearing”) to the Respondent on July 19, 2021 in accordance with RSA 541-A:31, RSA 400-
A:17,II(a) and Ins 200."* The Notice of Hearing was mailed to Respondent via both first-
class and certified, return receipt requested to his address in Lantana, FL."* The certified,
return receipt mail green card that was sent with the certified mail copy to Respondent’s
address was returned to the Department by the U.S. Postal Service, bearing a signature and
hand-written date of July 29.14

On October 26, 2020, the Respondent submitted an application for a NH non-resident
producer license by way of an on-line process administered by NIPR.!® At the time of that
submission, the Respondent listed his residential, business and mailing address as 1946 Fittin
Ct, Lantana, FL 3346, which is the same as that maintained in the SBS licensee
demographics record for Respondent.'® Respondent also paid the state licensing application
fee of $210 plus $6.18 processing fee by credit card.'” The NHID issued a non-resident
producer license to Respondent on October 26, 2020 authorizing him to sell accident and

health or sickness insurance. That license is set to expire on November 30, 2021.18

Joan LaCourse is the licensing supervisor at NHID. Her duties include overseeing
licensing, renewals and staff.'® She testified that NHID is a participating state of NIPR.

NIPR administers the electronic licensing application process2 and collects the

11 Record at 25:15
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corresponding state licensing application fees on behalf of the states. When payment of the
required fee(s) remains outstanding, NIPR will attempt to collect same on behalf of the state
to which the fee is owed.?! After three attempts to collect unpaid fee(s), NIPR will notify the
state of the unsuccessful collection attempts and it becomes the responsibility of the state to
pursue collection the debt owed.”? Here, NIPR sent correspondence to Ms. LaCourse on
May 20, 2021, indicating that there was a charge back on Eric Oster’s credit card, resulting in
an unpaid licensing application fee for the non-resident NH producer license that was issued
on October 26, 2020.2> The documentation she received further indicated that notices were
sent by NIPR on December 17, 2020, March 25 2021 and April 13, 2021 to Respondent’s
Email address in an attempt to collect the outstanding fees.?* Upon receiving this
correspondence from NIPR, Ms. LaCourse sent an electronic correspondence to Respondent
on May 20, 2021 requiring that he remit payment by June 1, 2021 for the outstanding debt of
$216.18 that was a result of the disputed credit card payment.’ Included in the
correspondence were detailed instructions on how to remit “...payment directly to NIPR, not
to this Department, to resolve the matter” and “...to contact the NIPR Billing Department,
Email: NIPRBillingDept @NIPR.COM” with any questions.?5 That correspondence also
provided notice to Respondent that his license was suspended?’ and failure to remit payment
could result in a referral to the Enforcement Unit for administrative action.?® Ms. LaCourse
did not receive any response from Respondent.?’ When the debt remained unpaid, Ms.

LaCourse referred the matter to the Enforcement Unit.>°

On June 16, 2021 Enforcement Counsel sent a letter, via US Mail, to Respondent at the
address of record.>! The letter advised that NHID “...has reached out to you multiple times

regarding the unpaid charge related to your application for a New Hampshire insurance

21 Ex. 5, Record at 13:57-14:28
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2 Ex, 5, Record at 12:05, 12:47

24 Ex. S, Record at 14:40

%5 Ex. 6, Record at 16:28

ZEx. 6

27 A producer license is suspended when a licensing application fee remains unpaid. See Record at 22:12
BEX. 6

29 Record at 16:37

% Record at 16:42

31 Ex. 7, Record at 17:51



producer license”. The letter further demanded payment be submitted “...directly to NIPR,
not the NHID, to resolve the matter” and advised that failure to pay would result in
administrative action against his license.>?> Enforcement counsel represented that this was an
attempt to speak with Respondent in order to resolve the issue prior to the need for a hearing,
but there was no reply from Respondent.*® As of the hearing date, Respondent has not
contacted the Department regarding payment of the unpaid fees.** The Respondent’s non-
resident, intermediary insurance license was revoked by the Wisconsin Insurance Department
on July 26, 2021 for non-payment of its licensing application fee.>> In that matter,
Respondent applied for a non-resident license via NIPR and Respondent’s financial
institution did not honor payment to NIPR. The Respondent’s license was revoked because
the debt remained unpaid after notice sent to him demanded payment on or before July 23,

2021.36

III.  Preliminary Rulings of Law

Whenever an agency seeks to revoke a license or impose an administrative fine, as is the case
here, there shall first be given notice and an opportunity to be heard at an adjudicative
proceeding.’” At such an adjudicative hearing, the Department bears the burden of proving a
prima facie case, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the licensee committed the alleged
violation of law or rule.® Thereafter, Respondent has the burden of presenting evidence to
persuade “the hearing officer that the department’s position should not be upheld.”*® Before an
administrative fine may be imposed, however, the department must meet its “overall burden of

proof by a preponderance of the evidence”.*°

32Ex. 7, pg. 2

33 Record at 18:03
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IV.  Legal Analysis and Discussion

Proper Notice of Hearing

The Respondent’s failure to attend or participate in the hearing on August 25, 2021 does not
affect the validity of the adjudicatory proceeding because Respondent was provided with proper
notice of the hearing date.! The Department may provide notice by mailing the Notice of
Hearing to Respondent at his last address of record with the Department.*> The Notice of
Hearing was sent via USPS certified mail to Respondent’s residential address of record and there

is proof of its delivery.*® Therefore, the requirements of providing proper notice are met.

Failure to Respond

The Department alleges that Respondent violated RSA 400-A:16, I by failing to respond
within 10 business days to the NHID’s inquiries regarding the unpaid licensing application fee.*
" RSA 400-A:1 6, II requires licensed producers, “upon request of the commissioner, provide the
commissioner with all documents and information relevant to any investigation under this
section within 10 working days.”** The Department bears the burden of proving a prima facie
case that the Department has, first, requested Respondent respond to the Department relative to

an investigation and second, Respondent did not in fact respond to the Department’s request.

Joan LaCourse sent correspondence to the Respondent on May 20, 2021 demanding he remit
payment for the licensing application fee. That correspondence did not request or require the
Respondent to respond to NHID or to provide documents and information pertaining to an

investigation. To the contrary, the correspondence directed the Respondent to remit payment or

41 N.H. RSA 400-A:19, VII (1975); Ins 206.03(b), eff 7-27-20
42 N.H. RSA 400-A:14, | (c) (1975)
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submit questions directly to NIPR, rather than NHID.*® While the letter does require an indirect
response in the form of sending payment to NIPR, it does not request the Respondent contact the

Department so that the matter could be discussed or investigated.

When payment was still not received, the Enforcement Unit sent correspondence to
Respondent on June 16, 2021. While the letter states that the Department had “reached out to
[Respondent] multiple times regarding the unpaid charge related to your application for a New
Hampshire insurance producer license™, there is no evidence of other such attempts except the
May 20, 2021 letter. The June 16% letter demands payment be made “directly to NIPR, not the
NHID, to resolve this matter.”*” The letter does not indicate that the enforcement unit is
conducting an investigation, nor does it require Respondent to contact the Department to discuss
the issue. Rather, “the letter is the final reminder” to pay the outstanding fee.® Similar to the
May 20™ letter, it does not request the Respondent contact the Department so that the matter

could be discussed or investigated.

Where there is no evidence that the Department has issued to the Respondent a request for
information or notice that he must contact the Department, there can be no corresponding
obligation on his part to respond, for failure of which he would knowingly violate a statute.

Accordingly, I find there is insufficient evidence that the Respondent violated RSA 400-A:16, I1.

Failure to Pay Application Fee

The Department alleges that Respondent violated NH RSA 402-J :12, I(b) when he failed to

pay the non-refundable, non-resident licensing application fee required under RSA 400-A:29.

“SEx. 6
YTEx. 7
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An out-of-state producer may obtain a non-resident producer license in New Hampshire upon
proper application and payment of the fees required by RSA 400-A:29.% The non-refundable

application and license fee applicable to Respondent’s application is $210.%° The non-refundable

fee applies to the application itself and the subsequent license that is issued. If the application
were to be denied, the Respondent would not be entitled to a refund of the fee paid. Payment of

the non-refundable fee is also a predicate to the issuance and subsequent holding of the license

granted.

Here, the Respondent initially paid the non-refundable fee by way of a credit card
transaction.’! Sometime thereafter, the credit card charge was disputed and reversed, leaving the
required fee unpaid.>> Both NIPR and NHID have notified the Respondent that the fee is
required and must be paid or administrative action would result.> A total of five notices have
been sent to the Respondent by way of US Mail or electronic mail.* Despite the notices, the
Respondent has failed to pay the fee required by law as a condition precedent to holding his NH
non-resident producer license. Proof by a preponderance of the evidence that Respondent acted
“knowingly” in violation of a statute or rule is required.”> Here, there is ample evidence that
Respondent’s action causing the credit card charge reversal, in combination with the subsequent

failure to pay, is voluntary, rather than through mistake or inadvertence,

% N.H. R.S.A. 402-J:8,I(b)

%% N.H. R.S.A. 400-A:29,X(a)(emphasis added)
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I find there is sufficient evidence to make a finding that Respondent has violated RSA 402-
J:12,I(b) by failing to pay the non-refundable fee that is required as a condition of holding the

NH non-resident producer license.

Misrepresentation or Fraud

The Department also alleges that the Respondent violated RSA 402-J :12,I(c) by obtaining a
license through misrepresentation or fraud when he applied for a non-resident NH insurance
producer license and then later disputed and reversed the credit card charges for the non-

refundable application fee and leaving that fee unpaid.>’

The commissioner may suspend an insurance producer’s license or issue a fine for “obtaining
or attempting to obtain a license through misrepresentation or fraud.”®® It is the person’s actions
up to the point of securing the license that are relevant. The fact that Respondent allowed the fee

to remain unpaid after receiving the collection letters is not relevant,

On October 26, 2020, Respondent submitted his application for a non-resident producer
license through NIPR’s on-line process. At the time of his application, the Respondent certified
that all of the information contained therein was true and complete and he paid the required non-
refundable fee via credit card.®® The NHID issued the license on October 26, 2020.%° There is
no evidence as to exactly when, or how close in time up to and including the application
submission, Respondent disputed the transaction, resulting in reversal of the credit card charge.

There is evidence that such act must have occurred after application and license issue on October

57 The commissioner may place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew an insurance producer’s
license, or may levy a penalty in accordance with RSA 400-A:15, Il or any combination of actions for any one or
more of the following causes:

58 N.H. R.S.A; 402-1:12, I(c)
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26, 2020 and before December 17, 2020, as that is the date NIPR sent the first of three collection

notices to Respondent demanding that payment. 5!

Accordingly, I find there is insufficient evidence that Respondent obtained the license
through misrepresentation or fraud on October 26, 2020.

V. Conclusion

The commissioner may take action upon a license and impose an administrative fine up to
$2,500 any causes set forth in RSA 402-J:12, I pursuant to RSA 400-A:15, I11.5? Based on the
foregoing, I propose that Respondent’s non-resident producer license be permanently revoked,

effective immediately, and an administrative fine of $1,000 be assessed.

Dated: Ci/ o/zﬁ'kb}f KW_‘X ﬂk ’ca/\r\)?_(_

Roni M. Karnis, Hearing Officer
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