
GAL Form 9 
8/2/13 

THE STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE 
Guardian ad Litem Board 

 
RENEWAL, REINSTATEMENT AND RECERTIFICATION 

APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 

ALL RENEWAL MATERIALS SHOULD BE SUBMITTED IN THE 90-DAY PERIOD 
PRIOR TO THE EXPIRATION OF CERTIFICATION 

 
(Include this list when submitting renewal, reinstatement and recertification applications. This is a 
synopsis/checklist only. Consult Chapter Gal 400 for specific requirements relative to renewals, reinstatements and 
recertifications) 
ALL FORMS ARE LOCATD ON THE BOARD’S WEBSITE. www.nh.gov/gal 
 
I. Name of Applicant _______________________________________________________ 

II. Application Fee: 

______ For Renewal of Current Certification - $75: Payable to “State of New Hampshire: GAL 
Board” 
 

______ For Recertification Within 90 Days of Expiration of Certification [See Gal 401.05] - $100: 
Payable to “State of New Hampshire: GAL Board.” 
 

______For Recertification Following Expiration of Certification Under Suspension [See Gal 402.07 
(d) (2)] - $100: Payable to “State of New Hampshire: GAL Board.” 
 

______ For Reinstatement Following Revocation or While Under Suspension [See Gal 402.08 
(revocations) and Gal 402.07 (d) (1) b. (suspensions)] - $100: Payable to “State of New 
Hampshire: GAL Board.” 
 

Note: For certification requests made more than 90 days after expiration of certification (which do not 
involve a settlement or agreement with the Board, a revocation or expiration of certification while under 
suspension) do not use this form. Use the “Application Checklist” form [GAL Form 2]. 
 
III. _____ “Application for Renewal, Reinstatement or Recertification” form 9(with “Continuing Education” 

attachments Form 10A): Original + 3 Copies 
_____ Signed & Dated 

_____ “Continuing Education” attachments completed and attached (include both “Continuing Education 
Activity” form [GAL Form 10A] and, if any continuing education activity claimed is not of a type 
listed in Gal 403.03, the “Other Continuing Education” form [GAL Form 12]) 

 
IV. _____ “Supplemental Application for Renewal, Reinstatement or Recertification” form 11: Original + 3 

Copies 
_____ Signed & Dated 

 

V. Required Supporting Materials (do not attach to application forms) 

_____ A.  Criminal Records Release Form  30 

  _____Signature Notarized 
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_____ B.  Check payable to “State of New Hampshire: Criminal Records” 

  _____Signed 

  _____ Correct amount ($25 as 1/1/11, subject to change) 

_____ C.  Original Central Registry confirmation Form 6 

_____ D.  Copy of Photo ID or other government document with photo, name and DOB 

_____ E.  Waiver of Confidentiality Form 5 

  _____Signed 

_____ F.  If a YES answer to Part G, Section I., Question 1 of the Application for Renewal,  
  Reinstatement or Recertification Form: 
 

  _____ Copy of order, decision or writing, if any, setting forth the terms of disbarment,  
   revocation, suspension, reprimand, discipline, sanction, censure, disqualification,  
   denial or fine 
 

  _____ Copy of subsequent order, if any, ending the action or reversing or overturning the 
   matter on appeal. 
 

_____G./H  If a YES answer to any question at Part G, Section II.-IV., numbers 2 through 10 of the  
  Application for Renewal, Reinstatement or Recertification Form: 
 

  _____ Copy of order, decision or writing, if any, setting forth factual findings and  
   conclusions resulting in the fine, suspension, sanction, penalty, denial, or  
   revocation 
 

  _____ Copy of order, decision, or writing, if any, lifting, reversing or overturning the  
   matter on appeal. 
 

_____I./J.  If applicant is requesting a new certification within 90 days after the expiration of a  
  certification (and is not subject to a settlement or agreement; did not have his or her  
  certification expire while under suspension and did not have his or her certification  
  revoked): 
 

  _____ Signed, written statement of the reasons for failing to request renewal prior to the 
   expiration of the prior certification  
 

 
_____K.  If applicant is requesting reinstatement or recertification following a revocation, during a 
  suspension, or after expiration of a certification that was under suspension: Written request 
  for a hearing on reinstatement or recertification [See Gal 402.07(suspension); Gal 402.08 
  (revocation).  
 

_____L.  If applicant is a formerly certified GAL whose certification expired while under a period of 
  suspension, or whose certification has been revoked, who is now applying for   
  reinstatement or recertification [See Gal 402.07(d) (2) (suspensions); Gal 402.08   
  (revocations)]: Written documentation of completion of the required continuing education 
  credits [See Gal 403.01 (c) and (d) regarding continuing education credits in this  
  situation; See Gal 403.08 (b) (1) through (8) and (10) regarding documentation required]. 
 

_____M.  If applicant is requesting renewal, reinstatement or recertification following, or as part of, a 
  settlement or agreement with the Board: Copy of the settlement or agreement [Also consult 
  agreement or settlement for requirements of new certification]. 
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_____N.  If applicant is requesting renewal or recertification where the most recent certification  
  ended as the result of a resignation or surrender of certification: Copy of the Board’s  
  acceptance of the resignation or surrender pursuant to Gal 404.02. 
 

_____O.  If any reference or recommendation for certification of applicant as a GAL has been  
  rescinded: Copy of the writing, if any, rescinding that recommendation. 
 

_____P.  If the Board has requested additional information of the applicant: The additional  
  information requested by the Board. [See Gal 401.03, Gal 403.08; Gal 404.01] 
_____Q./R.  If applicant answered “YES” to Question m. of the Supplemental Application for Renewal, 
  Reinstatement or Recertification form: 
 

____ Copy of the restraining order 
 

____ If the restraining order was subsequently reversed or modified, or if it was overturned 
 on appeal: Copy of the writing reversing, modifying or overturning the restraining 
 order. 
 

_____S./T.  If the applicant answered “YES” to Question n. of the Supplemental Application for  
  Renewal, Reinstatement or Recertification form: 

_____ Copy of the writing or transcript, if any, reflecting the finding of contempt against 
 the applicant 
_____ If the finding of contempt was reversed, modified, overturned on appeal, or lifted, a 
 copy of the order or decision so providing. 
 

_____ U.  Copies of certificates of attendance at any training which is being claimed for credit. 
 

_____ V.  If the applicant has completed additional education at any time since submitting his or her 
  most recent application form one of the following: 

_____ a.  Copy of the applicant’s diploma certified as original by the issuing 
Institution, or a photocopy of the degree; 

 

_____ b.  An official transcript of work performed by the applicant as additional  
  education, or a photocopy of the transcript; or 
 

_____ c.  A written statement from the institution attended certifying that the it has 
  awarded the degree or that the applicant completed the additional  
  education. 

[Applicants who specified additional education at Part C of the Application for Renewal, Reinstatement or 
Recertification form must provide this material] 

 

_____W.  If, for the purposes of continuing education credit, the applicant is seeking approval of a  
  type of activity not listed in Gal 403.03, an original and three (3) copies of a request for 
  approval Form 16 containing the information specified at Gal 403.06. See also Gal 403.05.  
 
_____X.  If the applicant is requesting an alteration of time in which to complete continuing  
  education, an original and three (3) copies of a signed, Form 17. 
 

Send Application Materials to: 
Guardian ad Litem Board 

State House Annex – Room 120 
25 Capital Street 

Concord, NH 03301 – 6312 
 

Questions:  Consult the administrative rules of the GAL Board which can be found at www.nh.gov/gal  
call (603) 271-1199 or email: gal.board@nh.gov 

http://www.nh.gov/gal
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