
To:   Family Mediator Applicants 
Re:   Certification Process and Requirements 

Certifications as a family mediator are approved according to NH Administrative Rules, Chapter 
Fam 300 (http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state_agencies/fam.html).  

To avoid unnecessary delay, applicants should review the rules before submitting their  
applications. 

The following is a brief summary of the rules:  

Educational Background 
� Have at least a Bachelor’s degree in any academic field. (Fam 303.01 (a) 
� Provide an authenticated transcript or similar authenticated document (Fam 302.04) 

Mediation Training (Fam 303.03)  
� Complete a minimum total of 48 hours of family mediator training, which includes  

o 24 hours of core instruction, which includes 3 hours of mediator ethics training
and 10 hours of role-play, provided by a New Hampshire certified family
mediator training program or presented by advanced practitioner/advanced
educator member of the Association for Conflict Resolution.

o 16 hours of mediation training specific to a New Hampshire divorce provided by
a New Hampshire certified family mediator training program.

o 8 hours of instruction in domestic violence issues provided by a New Hampshire
certified family mediator training program.

� Submit copies of certificates of attendance for all training requirements. 
� See Fam 303.03 (a)(2) for additional requirements if the core training is more than three 

years old.  

Internship (Fam 303.07) 
After completion of all required training: 
� Participate in at least 20 hours involving at least two cases with a qualified intern 

supervisor (Intern Supervisor defined:  Fam 301.08) 
o At least 16 hours of co-mediation with the intern supervisor or solo mediation

with the intern supervisor present. (Co-mediation defined: Fam 301.05)
o At least 4 hours of case supervision. (Case Supervision defined:  Fam 301.03)
o One case must be within 12 months of the application and include both a

parenting plan and a final decree involving financial issues.
� Submit an intern summary form and 50-word synopsis for each case.   
� Submit at least 3 redacted mediated agreements for cases co-mediated by the intern and 

written by the intern in paragraph format. 
� Arrange for intern supervisor(s) to submit, directly to the Board, an intern evaluation for 

each case.     
� See Fam 303.07 (e) for alternate internship requirements, if one qualifies as a Family 

Law Practitioner or Mental Health Practitioner (Fam 303.08).  

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state_agencies/fam.html


Letters of Recommendation (Fam 302.05) 
� Arrange for 3 letters of recommendation to be submitted directly to the Board. 

o All intern supervisors must provide letters of recommendation.
o All letters of recommendation must attest to the applicant’s honesty and

competence as a mediator and must include a recommendation to certify or not
certify the applicant.

o See Fam 302.05 (a) (2) for qualifications of others who may write letters of
recommendation.  Such individuals
� Must have observed applicant while applicant participated in a mediation

as an intern.
� May not be related to the applicant.

Complete Application 
� Submit original & two copies of Application Part 1 & Part 2 (Fam 302.03) 
� Submit application fee of $300 (Fam 304.01) 
� Application fees are not refundable. 
� Submit or arrange for submission of all supporting documents (Fam 302.04) 

Board Procedures 
� Applications are considered complete when the application, application fee and all 

supporting documents are received. 
� Once an application and application fee are submitted to the Board, an applicant has 52 

weeks to ensure that all supporting documents are submitted to the Board.   
� Documents in support of an application may be sent to the Board before an actual 

application is submitted.   
� After receipt of a complete application, the Board has 120 days to approve or deny 

certification. 
� The deadline for receipt of complete applications to be reviewed at a Board meeting is 

one week before the meeting date. 
� Anyone having questions may write the board, email family.mediator@nh.gov or call 

271- 2219.

Failure to read & comply with the board’s administrative rules may result 
application denial.    

Reminder: application fees are not refundable. 

mailto:family.mediator@nh.gov
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