Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
Air Rail Highway Bike/Ped Public Transit

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release
April 21, 2015
Contacts:
Christopher Waszczuk
Turnpikes Bureau
(603) 485-3806
Bill Boynton
Public Information Office
(603) 271-6495
Violation Cameras Installed In All NH Toll Lanes
Video Enforcement Added to Cash Lanes on Turnpike System

The New Hampshire Department of Transportation (NHDOT) announces the installation of violation enforcement cameras in all toll lanes on the NH Turnpike System. Violation enforcement cameras have previously existed in all the dedicated E-Z Pass lanes and Open Road Tolling (ORT) lanes.

As part of the last phase of the new lane system installation project, and subsequent to passage of RSA 236:31 (a & b), violation enforcement cameras will be installed in all remaining toll lanes. Implementing this change on or about April 27, 2015 and will be completed system-wide by mid-May 2015.

Violation enforcement cameras will take images of license plates of those motorists who are evading payment of the toll, and others who are requesting a "no funds" payment slip. Customers who pay their toll, and all exempt vehicles, will have the images of their license plates deleted within three seconds of the transaction per RSA 236:31b.

For individuals who evade paying the toll and those requesting a "no funds" transaction slip, the NHDOT will request address information of the vehicle owner based on the license plate image through the corresponding State's DMV or RMV and mail the owner of the vehicle an invoice for the toll and a $1.00 processing fee. Instructions for making the payment are included on the invoice, with payment due within 30 days.

Customers can also pay for their transaction online within seven days of their trip to avoid a $1.00 processing fee via the website www.ezpassnh.com (Post-pay option), by visiting an E-ZPass Walk-In Center, or by contacting the Customer Service Center at 1-877-643-9727.

Past due NH E-ZPass invoices are subject to additional fees/fines and the eventual denial of the vehicle owner's registration renewal privileges, in accordance with RSA 236:56-f.






New Hampshire Department of Transportation
PO Box 483 | 7 Hazen Drive | Concord, NH | 03302-0483
Tel: 603.271-3734 | Fax: 603.271.3914

copyright 2015. State of New Hampshire